Watermelon Cooler Slushy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Substitute limeade concentrate, and add ginger ale or a citrus soda, to make it even more refreshing. I also froze watermelon chunks so did not need ice cubes, but did need the ginger ale to make it go through the blender. I also omitted the salt from the blender batch, and added it to taste to the finished drink. This is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We had 3/4 of a smallish watermelon that was not getting eaten so I scooped all in melon out (probably around five cups' worth), and I added 12 ice cubes, the juice of half a lime, around 2 TBS sugar, and no salt. It was plenty sweet as the watermelon was really sweet. And half a lime was enough for us, any more would have been overpowering. Thanks for sharing, Olivia! I think I prefer drinking my watermelons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
REFRESHING! I tripled the ice to make it more slushy and didn't add all the sugar at once, but to taste. I also stuck the leftovers in the freezer and let thaw for 10 minutes, then added a small amount of water and poured into a glass. Either way, I will be making this again when I have more watermelon than I know what to do with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I used lemon juice, didn't have lme, omitted the salt and only measured the melon, but eyeballed everything else. Came out fantastic! So refreshing and delish. It'such a great and simple way to use up extra watermelon that is lying in the fridge! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is excellent with the changes I made. I used frozen strawberries instead of ice cubes. Also used 3 T. lime juice instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Ditto to the solution of "too much leftover watermelon". I took the advice of others and used frozen watermelon "cubes" instead of ice. Otherwise, I followed the recipe except for us adults. I added about 3/4 cup of frozen vodka (during the blending process), which made a really refreshing summertime cocktail! :-)~ (Using flavored vodkas would work well, too, I'd think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
oohhh yeah, this is good. the first batch i didn't have limes, so i used some margarita mix i had on hand, then the 2nd batch i put some apple flavored vodka - and i like it mucho! i think the pinch of salt kicks up the watermelon flavor a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Used frozen watermelon as suggested, and omitted the ice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I loved this recipe. Here's a suggestion for you. Use balled ice from Sonic. It blends really easily and fast. My daughter's thought this was the best treat ever!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
ver refreshing and wonderful for hot summer days. Made just like recipe instructed. DH and I loved this. This recipe is also a good way to use up and remaining watermelon you have leftover that otherwise would go to waste. Thank you so much for sharing!! Will make every summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States