Watermelon Cooler Slushy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I grew up making watermelon-lime slushies with frozen pieces of watermelon rather than bothering with ice. The flavor turns out better and stronger that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Substitute limeade concentrate, and add ginger ale or a citrus soda, to make it even more refreshing. I also froze watermelon chunks so did not need ice cubes, but did need the ginger ale to make it go through the blender. I also omitted the salt from the blender batch, and added it to taste to the finished drink. This is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
REFRESHING! I tripled the ice to make it more slushy and didn't add all the sugar at once, but to taste. I also stuck the leftovers in the freezer and let thaw for 10 minutes, then added a small amount of water and poured into a glass. Either way, I will be making this again when I have more watermelon than I know what to do with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is excellent with the changes I made. I used frozen strawberries instead of ice cubes. Also used 3 T. lime juice instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I used lemon juice, didn't have lme, omitted the salt and only measured the melon, but eyeballed everything else. Came out fantastic! So refreshing and delish. It'such a great and simple way to use up extra watermelon that is lying in the fridge! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by KATE571
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This recipe is very refreshing.I did find that the sugar needed adjusting according to the sweetness of the melon. I added only half the sugar initially then adjusted to my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We had 3/4 of a smallish watermelon that was not getting eaten so I scooped all in melon out (probably around five cups' worth), and I added 12 ice cubes, the juice of half a lime, around 2 TBS sugar, and no salt. It was plenty sweet as the watermelon was really sweet. And half a lime was enough for us, any more would have been overpowering. Thanks for sharing, Olivia! I think I prefer drinking my watermelons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is pretty good. 1/3 cup of lime was a little too much so I would cut that back to maybe 1/4 cup. I also could have cut the amount of sugar due to the ripeness of the watermelon. My 3 boys really liked it and it was a great way to get a large amount of watermelon out of a crowded fridge, not to mention the fact that it's better for them to drink than kool-aid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A bit too much lime juice. Will cut it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We added 1 container yogurt to give it some thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States