Watermelon Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
These cookies were a big hit !!! They are so cute and taste good too. Although I think next time, I might sprinkle a little bit of sugar on them before baking to give them that "sugar cookie" taste. I didn't follow the directions as written. Instead, I colored 1/4 of the dough green and the rest red. I then shaped the red into a log with a flat bottom, rolled out the green and covered the red log with a thin layer of the green - then refrigerated the log. The next morning, I just sliced the cookies, added the chips and baked - very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
What a tedious cookie to make! But what awesome results! Not for people who like the easy way out. I made it even harder on myself because I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I ended up individually cuting the regular chips in half (insane I know)! But everyone was impressed and they taste great. I washed an empty soup can to cut out the circles and that seemed to be the perfect size baked for 8 min. Cute, cute, cute cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This cookie was a huge success at my daughters 2nd grade garden party. I doubled the recipe easily. The cookies not only looked great, they were very tasty. I had to thin the icing mixture with a bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These cookies are absolutely tedious, but they are cute as can be. I will be making watermelon slice cookies again, but not with this recipe. I found the dough temperamental to work with, crumbling and cracking all over my board. So I would recommend "Sugar Cookie Cutouts" for the base of this recipe for ease of use and a slightly better flavor. Thank you for the idea, Linda =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by terri
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
just use butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These take some time to make, but what a cute cookie to make! (This would be great for kids on a rainy day.) I didn't have the mini chips and i cut my big ones in half like another reviewer, and that is just plain crazy! next time i'll wait til i go to the store! I added about 8 drops of food coloring to the red batter, rolled them out using powdered sugar instead of flour, and baked them for just over 8 min. Take them off the sheet quickly, the ones i let set for a couple of minutes i almost didn't get off the pan. I wanted a little more finished look so i piped a white line (the rine) using a ziploc baggie snipped at the end after I frosted with the green. A made the white (about 1 c powdered sugar and T water) almost too thick to pipe so it wouldn't run over the green. Next time i think i might add some more sugar to the dough (1/4 c), as it wasn't quite sweet enough for my sugar cookie preference. Picture perfect summer cookies! EDIT: these cookies ended up being terribly crumbly. They were perfectly cooked but they just didn't keep well. Would use a different sugar cookie base next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
really fun and easy to make! super delicious! I making this for different occasions! Awesome cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
A great idea but it didnt work out for me and the frosting made the cookies all soggie and they fell apart plus the cookie part wasnt the best tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanshan318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My mom used to make these when I was growing up! I LOVE how cute they are and am having so much fun baking them for my own son right now! I did substitute a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and a 1/3 cup splenda. Not that it will make much difference but any little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This tastes good..I tried to divide the dough and colored half of it green and the other red...then I chilled it..then rolled the red into a log..and flattened and wraped the green around, then sliced..but it didn't look to much like a watermelon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States