Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I read the review of others and added 20 oz crushed drained pineapple instead of 8 oz. Later I poured in the pineapple water little by little until I reached the right texture. It is very easy to make and truly delicious. Thanks Jennifer for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was just okay. Seemed to be missing something, maybe could have used some coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have used this as a go to recipe for the past few years. I remember this from my childhood and I have an Aunt who requests this for bbqs from time to time. I add chopped cherries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim6980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is soo good! I had not had this in a long time and this recipe tastes just like my mom used to make. I think next time I may add coconut just to add to it to see how it works.But the basic recipe is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a great addition to the meal. I did the 20 oz of crushed pineapple, drained, and a full 8 oz tub of whipped topping. I took the suggestion of adding a can of drained fruit cocktail, and I actually prefer it without. The flavor of the fruit cocktail didn't really meld well with the pineapple flavor, so save yourself the effort and make it without the fruit cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
my mom made this every holiday and called it pistacio pudding. She didn't add nuts; however, I do endorse the addition of some type of finely chopped nuts. We also never added the marshmallows so for those who don't appreciate the added sweet, you won't notice the absence of those. i would also support draining the crushed pineapple to avoid soupyness. The major difference in my mom's recipe would be the addition of minced maraschino cherries. For me this is a key ingredient. All in all...no holiday dinner is complete without this pudding/salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Weidman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My husbands "secret" family recipe! LOL he believed that this was a recipe passed down from generation to generation! Its a nice addition to the holidays around here. We look forward to it every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
IF YOU WANT TO MAKE IT LOW CAL: sub in sugar free pistachio pudding mix, 1 cup of vanilla low cal yogurt and LITE or LOW FAT whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is a classic. I made it when my son had friends staying over. I used 2 packages of pistachio pudding, 20oz can of pineapple, and I used almost the entire carton of "lite" whipped topping. Next time I think I will add some sliced maraschino cherries. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Familychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States