Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
my chef in my culinary arts class handed out this recipe for us all to make. when I made it, I was totally blown away. it was totally awesome!! we made our own whipped topping, which is fairly easy to make. it is good with or without the nuts. I made it twice to see if the nuts had a difference. it doesn't, so if you or your family has a nut allergy, you can leave them out because they don't add anything but a little crunch to it. oh, and it is a nice dessert salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this twice. As written, it was a 3 star dish. Made with the following changes recommended by my grandmother's original recipe it was 5 star. When I served it, she begged me to use her recipe and not this one, so I obliged. 1 small box INSTANT pistachio pudding - (do not make into pudding) 1 20oz pineapple in juice, NOT SYRUP drain off juice by 50% 1/2 cup chopped pistachios 1 1/2 cups minature marshmallows. 1-2 drops of green food coloring if desired 1 - 8oz tub cool whip Mix all ingredients together, FOLD in cool whip last and refrigerate for at least 6-8 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was delicious! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Yes many many times. Everyone loves it and it is so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I have made this for years, I also modify it. I add coconut and cherries to mine... and it fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used two boxes of pudding mix and the whole container of whipped topping. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Perfect recipe for watergate salad, minus the juice. I have to drain it else I'd end up with a soupy mess. This recipe reminds me of trips to Shoney's with my grandma 20 years ago, thank you for bringing a little of that back to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
With the changes in the other reviews, this is a great recipe. If you make it as written, the proportions are all wrong. Delicious though and a great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Used whole container of cool whip and used cherries instead of nuts and drained pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States