Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Added 20 oz crushed pineapple and the whole 8 oz whipped topping container as many sugested. I took this to a baby shower and as soon as i put it on the table i saw someone else had brought one also. I was a little dissapointed about that BUT as i saw more and more people going to my bowl over and over and saying "whatever this is, it's good!" i knew the bowl was going to be empty soon. When we cleaned up at the end of the shower , my bowl was in fact empty and the other lady's was almost full. I felt a little bad about that, but hey, if it's better what can you do? LOVE the nuts in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a good recipe that needs some modifications. To get the pineapple to pudding mix ration right, I make it with a 20 ounce can of fruit with two boxes of pudding, adding double the whipped cream. Sometimes it is good to add coconut as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Easy and so good! I would add more pineapple than called for - I used a 20-oz. can of (unsweetened) pineapple chunks. The second time I made this, I wanted to make it less soupy (adding all the juice was just too much liquid), so I drained the entire 20-oz. can of pineapple (chunks) into a measuring cup, then added 1/2 cup juice to the pudding. Letting it sit overnight is key, as it will taste too much like unprepared pudding if you don't. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and cut down on the amount (used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2), and would do that again. I also used the entire 8-oz. tub of whipped topping. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I changed it a bit, and it came out awesome, I had tons of requests at a baby shower for this recipe. Here it is.....2 (3.4 oz) packages of instant pistachio pudding, 2 (20oz) cans of crushed pineapple, drained (1/4 cup reserved juice), 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1(16 oz) cool whip, thawed. Fold all ingredients into the cool whip and chill for several hours. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Exactly as I remember my great aunts! Make sure to us pineapple in juice NOT the pinapple in syrup it makes it WAY TOO SWEET (I learned the hardway)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Took to a potluck. Changes: 20oz can of pineapple. Drained juice into large bowl, beat together with 4oz cream cheese and pudding mix. Folded in whole container of French Vanilla CoolWhip. Added pineapple, strawberries, mandarin oranges, marshmallows and pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe calls for the juice, we hated this and it looked sloppy. The next time I made it I drained the pineapples a couple of times to make sure there was NO juice. It came out very fluffy and quite nice looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This is one of those homey recipes that FEELS like a family tradition, even if you've just tried it for the first time! I prefer with finely chopped pecans, as walnuts can have a slightly bitter edge to them. Super fluffy goodness in a spoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
A festive sweet treat! I made this with Thanksgiving dinner. It looked and tasted great. I added some fruit cocktail with cherries to give it more of a fruit presence and for the color of the cherries. It was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I really enjoyed this salad. It's a shame pistachio pudding isn't given as much publicity as other flavors because it makes for a wonderful dessert. I added some cottage cheese to mine for extra texture and calcium. You really can't taste it, but it was a nice addition. I've made a recipe similar to this using peach gelatin in place of the pistachio and adding drained sliced peaches. Ohhh so good! Will make this again. Thanks Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States