Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
We just call this "Green Stuff" in our family. However, we use one whole bag mini marshmallows, double the puddings, a whole 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, and 2 containers whipped topping. It makes a ton, but lasts for several days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an old recipe frequently brought to church potlucks and found in church cookbooks. But someone at AllRecipes, please fix the ingredients! You must use a 16-20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and an entire tub of Cool Whip. Also, unless you really, really like the taste of pistacio pudding, only one (4 serving size) box is needed. When made correctly, this is a refreshingly yummy dish; however, I'm giving the recipe as written 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We make this often for family gatherings as it is a cool, yummy, cheap side to make for cookouts. We omit the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommamelder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I've been making this recipe for many years. I have also used 1 cup of whipping cream, whipped, in place of the Cool Whip. It makes it less sweet which my family likes better. This is one of my hubby's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaversm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I use sugar free pudding and sugar free cool whip for a diabetic friendly recipe. The pineapple and marshmallows still have sugar in them, but it cuts the sugar by more than half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Okay, here's what you'll need to do to achieve the 5 star status I've given this one... DEFINITELY use a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple, (I'm REALLY thinking the 8 oz. stated here is a misprint!)... also, be sure to use the entire 8 oz. container of Cool Whip rather than just half of it, (perhaps ANOTHER misprint???)... I wanted it to have a bit more substance, so I added a 15 oz. can of fruit cocktail, drained, and I'm really glad I did. Make sure to allow enough time for this to chill in the fridge before serving... I'd say at least 6 hours, but overnight would be even better. This is light and creamy & not overly sweet... a GREAT dessert for summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and we LOVE IT!!! We like to add maraschino cherries, halved. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a favorite in my family. I got the recipe from my grandma and have been making it for almost every holiday. When I forgot to bring it to Thanksgiving dinner last year there was an uproar lol. The only thing I do differently is drain the crushed pineapple. It comes out MUCH better that way. This is so easy, cheap and delicious... perfect for potlucks, family gatherings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Used fat free sugar free pudding, light whipped topping to reduce sugar and then added frozen blueberries and vwalla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States