Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Awesome recipe. I've made it four times in the past six months and the ONLY changes I have made is to drain the pineapple and add more cool whip and mini marshmallows (just 'cause that's the way we like it). I had to Double, then TRIPLE and then QUADRUPLE the recipe, because the first two times, not everybody got some. It was gone too fast!! Everybody loves it and I'm requested to make it all the time now. Oh yeah, it's INCREDIBLY easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I love this Salad! But i make it a little bit different. i use a whole container of cool whip and i added a small container of cottage cheese. It takes some of the sweetness away. My whole family prefers it with cottage cheese. It is soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
We just call this "Green Stuff" in our family. However, we use one whole bag mini marshmallows, double the puddings, a whole 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, and 2 containers whipped topping. It makes a ton, but lasts for several days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an old recipe frequently brought to church potlucks and found in church cookbooks. But someone at AllRecipes, please fix the ingredients! You must use a 16-20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and an entire tub of Cool Whip. Also, unless you really, really like the taste of pistacio pudding, only one (4 serving size) box is needed. When made correctly, this is a refreshingly yummy dish; however, I'm giving the recipe as written 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We make this often for family gatherings as it is a cool, yummy, cheap side to make for cookouts. We omit the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommamelder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I've been making this recipe for many years. I have also used 1 cup of whipping cream, whipped, in place of the Cool Whip. It makes it less sweet which my family likes better. This is one of my hubby's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaversm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I use sugar free pudding and sugar free cool whip for a diabetic friendly recipe. The pineapple and marshmallows still have sugar in them, but it cuts the sugar by more than half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Okay, here's what you'll need to do to achieve the 5 star status I've given this one... DEFINITELY use a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple, (I'm REALLY thinking the 8 oz. stated here is a misprint!)... also, be sure to use the entire 8 oz. container of Cool Whip rather than just half of it, (perhaps ANOTHER misprint???)... I wanted it to have a bit more substance, so I added a 15 oz. can of fruit cocktail, drained, and I'm really glad I did. Make sure to allow enough time for this to chill in the fridge before serving... I'd say at least 6 hours, but overnight would be even better. This is light and creamy & not overly sweet... a GREAT dessert for summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and we LOVE IT!!! We like to add maraschino cherries, halved. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States