Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Perfect... It was delicious! Perfect with our pork steaks and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My grandmother always made this. we called it Grandma's Green Glop! But she used a box of lime Jello also. she mixed it with just one cup of hot water so it was very strong. She also added cool whip and crushed pineapple! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Castleton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I absolutely adore this refreshing and sweet salad! I add a little spin to mine. I add mutsu or granny smith apples, about two,also I add red or black grapes. It adds a little more "health" to this already low calorie dish. I also substitute sugar-free pistachio pudding. In my humble opinion, you can't taste the difference! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susubelusu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Always a hit. My mom had this when I was a kid. Kind of a staple at family gatherings. I now make this for my kids & ...brother....who requests it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I have always loved this recipe. I used 20 oz pinapple tidbits and 2 pistachio pudding boxes. I also added 1/2 cup of sour cream to cut down on the sweetness. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe has been around for years. The recipe I use calls for a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and the full 8 oz container of cool whip. This needs to be prepared ahead of time and refrigerated for several hours to allow it to set up. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
this is great. I'm not ashamed to admit loving something so exquisitely simple. Use the whole tub of cool-whip and the whole 20oz of pineapple. My gramma used to put a handful of slivered almonds in but you can omit the nuts and it still rocks. Reminds me of 4th of July picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I can't tell you how much we enjoyed this. I made this recipe exactly as written and it reminded me of when my Aunt would always bring this salad to family functions. Wonderful memories and I'm happy to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I grew up on eating this salad, so I thought it fitting to make it for my kids, especially being the color that it is and that it is so close to St. Patrick's Day. They didn't like it because of the coconut, but I enjoyed this trip back to my childhood. It was just as great as I remember it. I topped with some toasted coconut and, of course, a cherry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Made with 2 pkg pudding, 8 oz cool whip, 20 oz pineapple (removed about half the juice) and left out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States