Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I use sugar free pudding and sugar free cool whip for a diabetic friendly recipe. The pineapple and marshmallows still have sugar in them, but it cuts the sugar by more than half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Okay, here's what you'll need to do to achieve the 5 star status I've given this one... DEFINITELY use a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple, (I'm REALLY thinking the 8 oz. stated here is a misprint!)... also, be sure to use the entire 8 oz. container of Cool Whip rather than just half of it, (perhaps ANOTHER misprint???)... I wanted it to have a bit more substance, so I added a 15 oz. can of fruit cocktail, drained, and I'm really glad I did. Make sure to allow enough time for this to chill in the fridge before serving... I'd say at least 6 hours, but overnight would be even better. This is light and creamy & not overly sweet... a GREAT dessert for summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and we LOVE IT!!! We like to add maraschino cherries, halved. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a favorite in my family. I got the recipe from my grandma and have been making it for almost every holiday. When I forgot to bring it to Thanksgiving dinner last year there was an uproar lol. The only thing I do differently is drain the crushed pineapple. It comes out MUCH better that way. This is so easy, cheap and delicious... perfect for potlucks, family gatherings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Used fat free sugar free pudding, light whipped topping to reduce sugar and then added frozen blueberries and vwalla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is great. I doubled the recipe and used pecans instead of walnuts. I also used a 16 oz. container of whipped topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My gramma used to make a similar salad, as she was the queen of Jello salads! But I remember coconut in her's. And she would make it with lime jello sometimes. This was really tasty and a big hit at my Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
No one ever called it Watergate Salad- but that's cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
this recipe was real easy to make and it tasted great i followed the directions and also added the whole can of pineapple and most of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Also called ambrosia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States