Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My mother-in-law shared this recipe with me. She likes to use fruit cocktail, which I don't like. I add pineapple tidbits & other fruit (tropical blend). Since she and my husband are diabetics, I use the sugar free pistachio pudding and omit the marshmallow. But the very best change I made is using chopped pistachio nuts instead of walnuts or pecans. This really enhances the pistachio flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crab Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The recipie was perfect, but I added coconut to to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I did as many reviewers recommended, put a 20oz can of pineapple (tidbits) with juice and a whole 8oz container of whipped topping and it was a success. I made it 24hrs before the party and everybody liked it. It was an awesome recipe and will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie955

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Awesome recipe. I've made it four times in the past six months and the ONLY changes I have made is to drain the pineapple and add more cool whip and mini marshmallows (just 'cause that's the way we like it). I had to Double, then TRIPLE and then QUADRUPLE the recipe, because the first two times, not everybody got some. It was gone too fast!! Everybody loves it and I'm requested to make it all the time now. Oh yeah, it's INCREDIBLY easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I love this Salad! But i make it a little bit different. i use a whole container of cool whip and i added a small container of cottage cheese. It takes some of the sweetness away. My whole family prefers it with cottage cheese. It is soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
We just call this "Green Stuff" in our family. However, we use one whole bag mini marshmallows, double the puddings, a whole 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, and 2 containers whipped topping. It makes a ton, but lasts for several days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an old recipe frequently brought to church potlucks and found in church cookbooks. But someone at AllRecipes, please fix the ingredients! You must use a 16-20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and an entire tub of Cool Whip. Also, unless you really, really like the taste of pistacio pudding, only one (4 serving size) box is needed. When made correctly, this is a refreshingly yummy dish; however, I'm giving the recipe as written 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We make this often for family gatherings as it is a cool, yummy, cheap side to make for cookouts. We omit the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommamelder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I've been making this recipe for many years. I have also used 1 cup of whipping cream, whipped, in place of the Cool Whip. It makes it less sweet which my family likes better. This is one of my hubby's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaversm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States