Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used two boxes of pudding mix and the whole container of whipped topping. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Perfect recipe for watergate salad, minus the juice. I have to drain it else I'd end up with a soupy mess. This recipe reminds me of trips to Shoney's with my grandma 20 years ago, thank you for bringing a little of that back to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
With the changes in the other reviews, this is a great recipe. If you make it as written, the proportions are all wrong. Delicious though and a great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Used whole container of cool whip and used cherries instead of nuts and drained pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This a very classic recipe but a nice customization is to make whip topping by using heavy cream, omitting the walnuts and adding in Mandarin Orange segments from those little Dole fruit cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I was feeling nostalgic... looking for a recipe from my childhood that mom used to make for camping trips and was happy to find here. Mom didn't use the walnuts but I love 'em so I added them in. I also stay away from whipped topping so I whipped up heavy whipping cream with a little sugar in place of the store bought container. It was delicious and held its body/texture perfectly! Great little trip down memory lane...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Really good version of ambrosia - never tried it with pudding before. But am I the only one who didn't get where the 3.4 oz comes from? Small boxes are 1 oz so large boxes must be double that? I doubled the recipe so used 2 small boxes and doubled the whipped topping, and used 20 oz can of pineapple. My son in law is allergic to nuts, even the small amount in pistachio pudding mix, so I used banana pudding instead and substituted coconut for the nuts. It was mediocre right after making it, but once it chilled it was delish! I'm sure coconut cream, french vanilla or white chocolate pudding mix would also work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hel's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I read the review of others and added 20 oz crushed drained pineapple instead of 8 oz. Later I poured in the pineapple water little by little until I reached the right texture. It is very easy to make and truly delicious. Thanks Jennifer for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was just okay. Seemed to be missing something, maybe could have used some coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have used this as a go to recipe for the past few years. I remember this from my childhood and I have an Aunt who requests this for bbqs from time to time. I add chopped cherries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim6980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States