Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I don't know why I love this, I just do! I don't like boxed pudding, marshmallows or cool whip, but put them together in this salad and I can't get enough of it! Made it to go with our St. Patrick's day meal, for no other reason than it was green, and it brought back memories! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I've had this before at pot lucks, and was excited when I came across the recipe to make it myself. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Has become a holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
20 oz pineapple but use only 1/2 cup drained juice to the pudding. Letting it sit overnight to let flavors blend. I used pecans and add marachino cherry halves and entire 8-oz. tub of whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I accidently made this not knowing it had a name. I made the regular fruit salad with cool whip (fruit cocktail, mandarin oranges, bananas, etc) and had a box of pistachio pudding that I decided to throw in & try it. I only used 1/2 of a small box & it gave it the perfect flavor (not too strong). It went great with all the fruit too. This is a great recipe that you can change up & add anything you want (including nuts, marshmallows, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
GREAT!!! Made it for Thankgiving and everyone ate it all up. Very sweet though. BUt delicious!! Next time I will add less nuts. Note: I have made this recipe several times this month. If yours turns out a little to sweet, add a little more Cool Whip until you get the taste you want. I always add more cool whip. The first time I made it, it was too sweet, but I think I have perfected it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by †Angela†

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a good recipe that needs some modifications. To get the pineapple to pudding mix ration right, I make it with a 20 ounce can of fruit with two boxes of pudding, adding double the whipped cream. Sometimes it is good to add coconut as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving. My husband loved it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for a friend, and she loved it. So easy, but, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I 3x the recipe. I thought that 20 oz of crushed pineapple, instead of 24 oz, would be okay but it wasn't enough for my taste, might even want to add more than 24 next time. I used the 'extra creamy' cool whip and only used 1 tub vs. 1 1/2 tubs. I also put about half a package of cream cheese in. Definitely a hit with the folks and the roommates. But really, I made this salad because it's called WATERGATE SALAD. And thats badass. I did a little research and apparently it's called watergate salad because it was popularized around when all that Watergate stuff was going down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamontheinternet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States