Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I've had this before at pot lucks, and was excited when I came across the recipe to make it myself. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Has become a holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
20 oz pineapple but use only 1/2 cup drained juice to the pudding. Letting it sit overnight to let flavors blend. I used pecans and add marachino cherry halves and entire 8-oz. tub of whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I accidently made this not knowing it had a name. I made the regular fruit salad with cool whip (fruit cocktail, mandarin oranges, bananas, etc) and had a box of pistachio pudding that I decided to throw in & try it. I only used 1/2 of a small box & it gave it the perfect flavor (not too strong). It went great with all the fruit too. This is a great recipe that you can change up & add anything you want (including nuts, marshmallows, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
GREAT!!! Made it for Thankgiving and everyone ate it all up. Very sweet though. BUt delicious!! Next time I will add less nuts. Note: I have made this recipe several times this month. If yours turns out a little to sweet, add a little more Cool Whip until you get the taste you want. I always add more cool whip. The first time I made it, it was too sweet, but I think I have perfected it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by †Angela†

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a good recipe that needs some modifications. To get the pineapple to pudding mix ration right, I make it with a 20 ounce can of fruit with two boxes of pudding, adding double the whipped cream. Sometimes it is good to add coconut as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving. My husband loved it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for a friend, and she loved it. So easy, but, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I 3x the recipe. I thought that 20 oz of crushed pineapple, instead of 24 oz, would be okay but it wasn't enough for my taste, might even want to add more than 24 next time. I used the 'extra creamy' cool whip and only used 1 tub vs. 1 1/2 tubs. I also put about half a package of cream cheese in. Definitely a hit with the folks and the roommates. But really, I made this salad because it's called WATERGATE SALAD. And thats badass. I did a little research and apparently it's called watergate salad because it was popularized around when all that Watergate stuff was going down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamontheinternet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is a must have at all our Holiday Get togethers. I like to use sugar free-fat-free pudding mix and lite cool whip, I also like to use pecans in place of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States