Watergate Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Prepared just as directed and turned out wonderful!! Would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Really tasty, my husband loved it. I used a buttercream frosting, only because I wanted to decorate the cake like a drum. Will try this with the regular frosting soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for my sons birthday and it was a big hit! I used to make this years ago, but lost the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Folks, this is an old recipe. I got it in the 70's and it was very popular for a while. It was called Watergate Cake because it had such a great cover-up (as you see, reviewers loved the topping). In the old days, people were just starting to add oil to cake mixes and this one has a lot and certainly could be cut back now! Just made it again after many years for a Christmas lunch and its green color looked very appropriate. I would recommend that you use the dream whip for the topping instead of coolwhip, although the cool whip would certainly be a time saver. In the old days, it HAD to be made in a bundt or tube pan, as in the photo. Much more impressive, although the 9x13 versions are certainly easier to deal with and take to a picnic, etc. Still a delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyDearest
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Fantastic. Made it for a 1970's theme party. Make sure it refrigerates overnight. So moist. Did not have frozen topping so used heavy cream and omitted milk...added the pudding as the whipping cream was starting to form. I later folded in coconut and chopped nuts for the "cover-up" icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyDearest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake was so delicious that my youngest son asked me to make it for his birthday. This is now a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe is awesome. It was very easy to follow and the cake was delicious. This cake has been a holiday favorite in my family for years. However, no one in my family knew how to make the cake, so we would usually buy it. Well I guess we know who will be making the Watergate cake this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Made this for an outdoor event so just sprinkled the top with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wonderful Cake!! just happened across this recipe looking for something to do with a white cake mix. I did decrease oil to 1/2 cup and used only 2 eggs I also added a can of light fruit coctail drained to the mix and some flaked coconut. I added pineapple and crushed walnuts to topping. I also used sugar free pudding and cool whip and diet soda still turned out great!! Will be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I love this cake it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States