Watergate Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
There were several Watergate Cake recipe's to choose from. I chose this one because it looked the easiest. The cake was very good, I took it to a BBQ. I would highly recommend DOUBLING the icing recipe. The icing is so good that "more" is better than "less"! I decorated the bottom of the cake with little alternating pastel mini marshmallows. Everyone thought it was so pretty! The next time I make it, I am going to put crushed pinneapple between the two layers of cake. Note: The cakes gets even better with time...refridgerate and you will enjoy this all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
SO Good it will make you CRY! I mixed up some crushed pineapple into the frosting. I also mixed white frosting and pineapple and used that to frost between the layers, ohhh sumptuous! If you love watergate salad you will REALLY love this cake. GREAT job on the recipe!!!-Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I don't know what I was thinking about when I made this cake. I thought maybe the pudding and the soda would make a difference.... There is no hiding the fact that this is a BOX cake. You will have a hard time convincing most people that this is made from scratch. The topping, I used 2 cups of whipped heavy whipping cream instead of the dream whip. Added coconut and the pudding then sweetened to taste. Now this topping may be a keeper with a homemade cake. Otherwise, won't make the box cake portion again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
First, I agree with another reviewer that 3 eggs and 1 cup oil is just to much; I cut back to 2 eggs and 1/2 c oil. That being said does not change the fact that this cake is in need of help. I notice that many if the recipes that are giving it 4-5 stars talk about adding ingredients. I would say adding some crushed pineapple and maybe walnuts to the batter and/or the topping are required to make this worth your time. Also its a must to double the topping, there is just simply not enough to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I lightened up the recipe by cutting oil back to 1/2 cup and substituting it with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and I cut back to 2 eggs. Was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My grandma has made this cake for just about every family birthday since I can remember. It is delicious. Keep it in the fridge if you can stop eating long enough to save some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this was so good! I double the icing and had a little left over, I also took 1/2 big can of crushed pineapple, added some sugar and boiled it down. Then poked holes in my layers and put the pineapple on top of each layer, then covered it with icing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Folks, this is an old recipe. I got it in the 70's and it was very popular for a while. It was called Watergate Cake because it had such a great cover-up (as you see, reviewers loved the topping). In the old days, people were just starting to add oil to cake mixes and this one has a lot and certainly could be cut back now! Just made it again after many years for a Christmas lunch and its green color looked very appropriate. I would recommend that you use the dream whip for the topping instead of coolwhip, although the cool whip would certainly be a time saver. In the old days, it HAD to be made in a bundt or tube pan, as in the photo. Much more impressive, although the 9x13 versions are certainly easier to deal with and take to a picnic, etc. Still a delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyDearest
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Fantastic. Made it for a 1970's theme party. Make sure it refrigerates overnight. So moist. Did not have frozen topping so used heavy cream and omitted milk...added the pudding as the whipping cream was starting to form. I later folded in coconut and chopped nuts for the "cover-up" icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyDearest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATYYKAKEZ
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday, and it was a huge success! I made a couple changes: I used carbonated water instead of the lemon/lime soda, and I used whipped heavy cream instead of cool whip for the frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATYYKAKEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States