Watergate Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
This cake was wonderful, really easy to make, and got better with age! My little boy loved it because it was "green!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
There were several Watergate Cake recipe's to choose from. I chose this one because it looked the easiest. The cake was very good, I took it to a BBQ. I would highly recommend DOUBLING the icing recipe. The icing is so good that "more" is better than "less"! I decorated the bottom of the cake with little alternating pastel mini marshmallows. Everyone thought it was so pretty! The next time I make it, I am going to put crushed pinneapple between the two layers of cake. Note: The cakes gets even better with time...refridgerate and you will enjoy this all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
My husband wants this for his birthday cake every year because it is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I love this cake! This was great, very light and very moist cake. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make this again. Easy directions, easy recipe. Great summer recipe not heavy at all and it really does get better the longer it can stay in the fridge but good luck this goes quick. Thank you Janice great recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Not impressed at all. This cake has no pistachio flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
SO Good it will make you CRY! I mixed up some crushed pineapple into the frosting. I also mixed white frosting and pineapple and used that to frost between the layers, ohhh sumptuous! If you love watergate salad you will REALLY love this cake. GREAT job on the recipe!!!-Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I love this cake!! Its so easy to make and the kids love it! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This is a great cake. First had it years ago and loved it. It is so moist! Most people I make it for think they are going to hate it, because of the pistachio, but they end up loving it! ALWAYS a hit at cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My grandma has made this cake for just about every family birthday since I can remember. It is delicious. Keep it in the fridge if you can stop eating long enough to save some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I lightened up the recipe by cutting oil back to 1/2 cup and substituting it with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and I cut back to 2 eggs. Was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States