Watercress Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I've enjoyed allrecipes for years. This is the recipe that got me to sign up so I could review it. This soup is wonderful. I added two little cloves of garlic, skipped the milk and added a little cream after I had blended it with my immersion blender. It will be going on my permanent rotation. It is that good. Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I was out of milk so used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead. My watercress was very, very spicy and kind of horseradish flavored but this mellowed in cooking. Very pretty and tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I'm on a 20 day parasite/body cleanse with strict instructions - no meat, soy, sugar or dairy so I used veggie stock and coconut oil, very tasty, healthy and a good dish if your diet is restricted for any reason....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I love this soup. Its got a lot of flavour and you would be amazed that even picky eaters will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made this vegetarian with soymilk and veg broth (including a leftover Ramen Noodle packet). I got a Groupon deal of a bag of vegetables and didn't know what to do with the watercress since I've never had it. I'll be getting it again to make this. This was great as is, but next time, I will put aside some of the potato/onion mixture and stir it in at the end for a chunkier soup. The garlic, sherry, and thyme from the other reviewer sounds like a great idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Great way to enjoy watercress. The only alteration I made was to not whip the cream but rather just add an attractive swirl of cream to the center of the soup. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Bland and too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved it when my host mother in France would make this soup. However, there is a MUCH easier way to make this soup than this recipe suggests. My host mother would use watercress, two potatoes, creme fraiche, salt and pepper. She would cook the vegetables in water, puree them with an immersion blender, and add creme fraiche. This is 10 times easier and healthier, and it still tastes amazing! She would also sometimes add broccoli, a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great recipe - delicious soup just like my Mum makes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Good stuff! I bought some watercress on a whim and this was my very first time trying it! :) I really enjoyed this soup - the recipe doesn't really need any tweaking. I look forward to the next time I decide to purchase some watercress!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States