Water Chestnuts a la Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I had these at a party once and I've been looking for the recipe ever since to find how to get the bacon crispy. I roll the water chestnuts in bacon and then I roll them in brown sugar. I've tried broiling and baking with intermittent success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlfun48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are great if you are looking for quick and easy. However, to make it a 5 star recipe, go the extra mile and try the Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps recipe on this site. It's kicked up a notch with a great sauce. You gotta love a recipe with 2 ingredients that can be microwaved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My mom actually bakes these in the oven around the holiday and I will be making them this sunday for the super bowl. One thing that adds that I recommend is smothering them in bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Secret - ADD BROWN SUGAR! Roll the water chestnut in brown sugar before wrapping the bacon around it. Hold together with a toothpick. This adds just a hint of sweet syrup and makes this snack awesome!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This receipe is terrific....can change it up by covering the in a mixture of equal parts of ketchup and brown sugar instead of just the brown sugar. Evyerone raves either way. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe has been one my family has used for decades! I have gone to several parties recently and taken this appetizer with me; they are gone in seconds, and I don’t add anything else to the recipe. The only thing I do different is bake them in the oven at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or until the bacon is crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
these are good ...can be frozen ...even better if you take equal amounts of brown sugar and ketcup mixtogether dip bacon /waterchestnuts in mixture then put in oven to warm...serve hot or room tempture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
we too have been making them a long time but on ours we use 1/2 cup chili sauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup mayo mix together pour over wrapped bacon chestnuts, and bake 350 45 mins . Before I pour sauce on them I microwave them 10 min or so, to give them a head start on cooking. never any leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We have been serving this in our family for decades, but, we marinate the water chestnuts in soy sauce & garlic powder, before wrapping with the bacon. Much more flavourful. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Easy, quick and delicious. At our house, when there is only one left there can be quite a battle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States