Water Chestnut Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It's a little runny when first made, but thickens well when chilled. Crab meat or shrimp might add nicely to the texture, but the soup flavor is quite strong and would possibly overwhelm those mild flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
A great recipe. I really like the addition of hot sauce. Make this a day ahead of time so the flavors can come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Took it to a work gathering. Had many people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My family LOVES this recipe. I make it often for family functions and we love it. It's delicious and love the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Super easy and everyone loves it! I do play with the portions to suit my taste, but the basic is always perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I think this is best after a few days. Very good when served well-chilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I originally made this as a "back-up" to some other appetizers I was making and it quickly became one of my favorites. I use an overflowing 1/2 tsp. of Tabasco and serve it with Sociable crackers rather than butter flavored crackers (seems like a better match to me). The texture is great, it's got a lot of "zip" and I got a lot of compliments on it. UPDATE: This dip started out as a back up, but is number one on my list and at friends houses (to whom I gave the recipe to). Always a favorite and always gone by the end of the night. I can't say enough about this dip. It is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I made this recipe yesterday. It was really easy to make and very quick. I thought I would try this recipe because I love water chestnuts and thought this may be good. Overall, this was a pretty good dip. I halved the recipe, but put double the hot sauce and used dry onion soup mix. The flavor was good but I would have liked the dip to be a little thicker. I have only tried it on crackers but I think it would be good in a wrap, maybe even with some deli meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is very good, tasty, fresh flavors. I liked it better as a finger sandwich with watercress or as a spread on crostini however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unknown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Was pretty good. good texture. Had alot left over though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States