Wassail Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Absolutely delish! I made this for our Christmas party and even those who never had it were loving it! I did cut the lemon juice to just a couple of squirts so it would not be so tart and I added 1/4 cup of sugar. Made my home smell absolutely divine! I used to make this when I was younger but I couldn't remember all the stuff in it, so thanks so much for sharing adn bringing back some great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great....had a party tonight and it was gone! used a little less lemon, little more apple cider...plus the house smelled great! cooked it on the stove, ready in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARNY2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUM. My husband said it was better than his mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My husband and I thought this came out really well. Simple to make and extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I make this every Thanksgiving and have never had any left over. Lots of folks like to "spike" with a little spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this following the exact ingredients on the list in their exact measurements. I was very pleased with the way it came out - I didn't think it was too tart at all! The trick is making sure it has thoroughly cooked itself for awhile. I had to make mine on the stovetop for a shorter amount of time than was listed. It simmered there for a few hours and the flavors mixed well when it had been cooking for awhile longer. This is so easy to make I will be doing it again, and yes it smelled wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Have tried several Wassail recipes over the years but this one really stands out. Even my teenagers enjoyed this one and kept going back for more. I doubled the recipe. I used pasteurized, unfiltered cider. I juiced lemons for the required juice, did not use prepared. I used a premium, no pulp orange juice. Mixed it all up, floated a clove studded orange in it and simmered it until it had reduced about 1/2 inch from where I had started in a 6 quart kettle. Just before serving I added honey to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was a little skeptical about making this since I had never tried to make wassail before. This was a big hit at my Christmas party. It was totally gone by the end of the night. Adding red hot candies to it really adds a special touch, so I highly recommend doing that too. This was very easy and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was definitely delicious. I used a package of mulled spices from the grocery store and just put in cider and orange juice. I let them sit in the crock pot for about 6 hours on low and then turned it up to high for the last 30 or so minutes. I strained the wassail and put a little bit of spiced rum in the bottom of the mugs- so so yummy, and the whole house smelled amazing. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This tastes good and can be made with or without spirits. I added some Burgundy to it and it added a wonderful complex flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Ponche de Frutas (Fruit Punch)

See how to make a delicious and refreshing Mexican-style fruit punch.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States