Wassail Punch I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I served this as the non-alcholic drink at my Christmas party last night and it was well received. I will make this again, but I would not put quite as much sugar in it. It was just a little too sweet, the cider is sweet and the orange juice is sweet so the ammount of sugar was a bit too much, maybe 1 cup less would be good. You could always add more when you're heating it if you thought it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve and it turned out wonderfully good. It was great to serve to company and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wow, this is good. Definitely worth the time it takes to make it -- and pretty simple, too. The recipe as it is makes just a tad over two gallons; it's so good, though, that we didn't have any problem finishing it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good! This is almost exactly like my favorite Wassail, the only difference being the omission of cardamom in this recipe. I toss in a few whole green cardamom pods with the other spices. (Sorry for being inexact - the number depends on the amount of Wassail and the size and freshness of the pods... and personal taste. Try 1 or 2 if you are not accustomed to the flavor of cardamom.) DO use real oranges and lemons (not juice concentrates) - the fresh juices make all the difference in the world. Worth the work of all of that squeezing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I've made this for Christmas parties, and folks really like it. It's delicious and so nice, because it's a very warm punch when it's cold outside! I just keep it simmering on the stove during a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Loved Loved Loved It. I used ground ginger due to the cost of crystalized ginger. Also used apple juice due to availability.I used 64 ouces of apple juice and 1 teaspoon each of ground ginger and nutmeg about 1 1/2 tablespoons of whole cloves and substituted brown sugar for white. I also adjusted the juices accordingly using 3 cups of Orange Juice and 3/4 c lemon juice, 3 cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very tasty and what an aroma! Makes a ton...next time I will make less and also use less sugar - I found the natural sugars in the cider, oj and lemon juice to be very sweet, so adding all that additional sugar was too much. But a very tasty combination of flavors. This definitely makes my holiday drink list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it! My dad must have gone back three or four times! I will definitely make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Overall, very good wassail! I've made this a couple of time and I find the lemon juice to be overpowering. I now decrease the amount of lemon juice and add pomagrante juice. It gives a nice kick to the flavor. I also use ground ginger instead of crystallized and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States