Wassail Punch I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it! My dad must have gone back three or four times! I will definitely make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I have been making this German favorite for over 30 years and I love it! The only thing I do differently is I cut the lemon juice to just one cup instead of two. I also make sure to use Apple CIDER not Apple juice. Apple Cider gives it a richer flavor and it holds up when heated better. Love the way my home smells when I make this during the holidays. Don't forget to try it with your favorite rum or brandy for a nice night cap. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTEMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve and it turned out wonderfully good. It was great to serve to company and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Loved Loved Loved It. I used ground ginger due to the cost of crystalized ginger. Also used apple juice due to availability.I used 64 ouces of apple juice and 1 teaspoon each of ground ginger and nutmeg about 1 1/2 tablespoons of whole cloves and substituted brown sugar for white. I also adjusted the juices accordingly using 3 cups of Orange Juice and 3/4 c lemon juice, 3 cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is SO good. It's worth making for the aroma alone! (The house smells DIVINE!) I halved the recipe but used 6 cinnamon sticks. Also, I used ground ginger instead of crystallized. I'm going to make this again for Christmas Eve (and add a splash of spicy rum!!). Great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wow, this is good. Definitely worth the time it takes to make it -- and pretty simple, too. The recipe as it is makes just a tad over two gallons; it's so good, though, that we didn't have any problem finishing it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I served this as the non-alcholic drink at my Christmas party last night and it was well received. I will make this again, but I would not put quite as much sugar in it. It was just a little too sweet, the cider is sweet and the orange juice is sweet so the ammount of sugar was a bit too much, maybe 1 cup less would be good. You could always add more when you're heating it if you thought it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
SUPERB !! We have two evening services at our church on Christmas eve, and I made this for my fellow choir members to sooth our throats between services. It was a tremendous hit, and I've been advised to make it part of our tradition. I was afraid it would make too much, but every bit was GONE. NB...this recipe makes 2 gallons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
A holiday hit! Both church and work parties loved this. Good with a bit of rum, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States