Wassail Punch I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
SUPERB !! We have two evening services at our church on Christmas eve, and I made this for my fellow choir members to sooth our throats between services. It was a tremendous hit, and I've been advised to make it part of our tradition. I was afraid it would make too much, but every bit was GONE. NB...this recipe makes 2 gallons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Loved Loved Loved It. I used ground ginger due to the cost of crystalized ginger. Also used apple juice due to availability.I used 64 ouces of apple juice and 1 teaspoon each of ground ginger and nutmeg about 1 1/2 tablespoons of whole cloves and substituted brown sugar for white. I also adjusted the juices accordingly using 3 cups of Orange Juice and 3/4 c lemon juice, 3 cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I have been making this German favorite for over 30 years and I love it! The only thing I do differently is I cut the lemon juice to just one cup instead of two. I also make sure to use Apple CIDER not Apple juice. Apple Cider gives it a richer flavor and it holds up when heated better. Love the way my home smells when I make this during the holidays. Don't forget to try it with your favorite rum or brandy for a nice night cap. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTEMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Overall, very good wassail! I've made this a couple of time and I find the lemon juice to be overpowering. I now decrease the amount of lemon juice and add pomagrante juice. It gives a nice kick to the flavor. I also use ground ginger instead of crystallized and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
It was a good recipe but I think that the combination of the lemon & the orange make it too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good! This is almost exactly like my favorite Wassail, the only difference being the omission of cardamom in this recipe. I toss in a few whole green cardamom pods with the other spices. (Sorry for being inexact - the number depends on the amount of Wassail and the size and freshness of the pods... and personal taste. Try 1 or 2 if you are not accustomed to the flavor of cardamom.) DO use real oranges and lemons (not juice concentrates) - the fresh juices make all the difference in the world. Worth the work of all of that squeezing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very tasty and what an aroma! Makes a ton...next time I will make less and also use less sugar - I found the natural sugars in the cider, oj and lemon juice to be very sweet, so adding all that additional sugar was too much. But a very tasty combination of flavors. This definitely makes my holiday drink list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I've made this for Christmas parties, and folks really like it. It's delicious and so nice, because it's a very warm punch when it's cold outside! I just keep it simmering on the stove during a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
A holiday hit! Both church and work parties loved this. Good with a bit of rum, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is SO good. It's worth making for the aroma alone! (The house smells DIVINE!) I halved the recipe but used 6 cinnamon sticks. Also, I used ground ginger instead of crystallized. I'm going to make this again for Christmas Eve (and add a splash of spicy rum!!). Great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States