Washington Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering for the first time and it was a big hit. I served the cream cheese frosting on the side since it wasn't even needed and left it optional. I used 1 egg and 2 eggs substitutes in addition to canola oil. I have made a lot of cakes from this site but this is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharra_Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This cake used to be on the menu at a restaurant I worked at. I reduced the sugar and oil with no ill effects in the cake. It was excellent. I will have to compare it with the original recipe when I unpack, I think it had more cinnamon. The crust softens after a day or two in the fridge. I prefer it after the crust has softened and the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharra_Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Is this cake supposed to have a very thick crunchy crust? The middle was nice and moist and very good but my husband hated how crispy the outside was and I didn't like it much myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My SISTER makes this cake and flat REFUSES to share the recipe with us! Oh, but she shamelessly flaunts this wonderful cake in front of us!! Well, thank you for sharing your recipe. This is by far one of the very best ways to use apples ever....I've taken this to every pot luck we're invited to and people actually ask us to bring it. Really worth making - double it, it doesn't last very long! :0 (I can't wait till she comes to visit and I present her with slice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This cake was so moist, everybody I know just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
WOW! I love this recipe! We only eat granny smith apples and I ended up with a bag that weren't, so I was looking for a recipe to use these up and this just what I was looking for. On the sweet side, but man it hits the spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
A good, if somewhat ordinary, cake with a nice moist texture. Like similar cakes, I think it tastes better after it sits for a day. Not wanting to spend for 2 pkgs of cream cheese, I halved the frosting-- but it's the best part! This would be a good choice if you don't want a really sweet cake and you like to taste walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Both of my grandmothers use to make this cake when I was a child. One grandmother used vanilla and the other used lemon in the icing.This cake has always been a family favorite. Remember the batter is very thick before you put it in the pan so don't be alarmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I've made it many times. The first time I made it, I bought the ingredients to make the cream cheese topping and then decided not to. When the cake cooled, I just turned it out upsidedown on a platter and sprinkled it with confectioner's sugar instead. It was beautiful, delicious and LESS FATTENING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I liked it..............but just too much sugar for me. Next time I would cut back the sugar in the cake and the topping. More cream cheese, less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States