Washboard Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These were great! I didn't change a thing. I may add a tad bit of salt next time, since I used unsalted butter, but they don't really need it. A nice, simple, tasty, crispy, chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
What a great recipe! My cookie jar was empty and so was my white sugar cannister. These were simple and tasty and saved me a trip into town! Used ingredients exactly as listed but I only baked mine for 12 minutes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made these cookies for my family. My husband and son loved these cookies. They are very sweet, which is the type of cookie that they both like a lot. A very simple cookie with simple ingredients. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
While the cookies are SO easy to make and turned out perfectly cooked in 15 minutes, they were bland. I used light brown sugar instead of dark, which was probably my issue. Because I didn't use the required ingredients, I'm giving it a 4. Next time, I will use the dark brown sugar or add the molasses and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Oh, we all thought these were great! Insanely simple, crunchy on the outside - soft & chewy on the inside. As so many others mentioned, I added 1/4 t cinnamon and 1T of molasses as I only had lt brown sugar. Took all of 6" to throw together, no need to chill dough, and they baked up perfectly in 15". Simple, clean, fresh flavors - I didn't find them bland in the slightest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is now my favorite cookie EVER. It's like a blondie in cookie form. AMAZING! I made it exactly as written and I wouldn't make any changes! These are not bland at all. If you have had blonde brownies, these have the same texture and flavor. Chewy, sweet, and almost like caramel on the inside. Crispy outside. Perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
A quick and easy cookie. Moist. Not a whole lot of flavor but the brown sugar made it a nice coffee cookie. I used turbinado sugar for the top which gave it a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Love the simplicity. I added about 3 tsps of ground ginger and some salt (I used unsalted butter) and got plenty of positive feedback. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These are quite good, they stay soft. I think they would benefit from an addition thought, perhaps a nut or chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very easy and tasty. I also added 1/4 tsp cinnamon, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States