Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
love this recipe! Just made it again this week. A few subtle changes were made. I try and avoid adding sugar, so i used 1/2 a packet of splenda for sweetness. Also, my family is not a huge fan of hot peppers so i used a mix of mild green pepper and a cuban pepper. Just an awesome recipe. I serve it with brown rice, and several toppings my family can choose from-green onions, shredded cheddar, sour cream, Franks Red hot sauce and fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I was a little worried to try this recipe as it called for coffee, I am 100% glad that I did! The flavors were so intense, with almost a sweet taste at first with one heck of a kick in the tail end! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding sirloin to the mix as one reviewer suggested. I too entered this recipe in a chili cook off today and took first place by a landslide! This is a must to add to your arsenal if you love chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Most amazing chili EVER! Had to make chili for my son's football team. Started making it when he was in the 8th grade...that was years ago. Now they beg for it..He's been graduated for 3 years! Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is the best chili Ive ever had. I did add cubed tenderloin and added 4 chopped stalks of celery and 2 cans of diced tomato's. I used Sam Adams BL this time. The type of beer used really affects the over all flavor as the last time I made this, I used a local micro brew. So if you this this tastes off, you might consider a different kind of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I love this chili... I really love spicy food, and this IS spicy... might recommend cutting down the peppers or using peppers a little more mild than a habanero if you can't handle it as spicy as it is. I used a full pound of ground sausage, and red stripe because that's the only beer I had available. I added a little bit more wasabi while cooking because as far as I can tell it doesn't add a whole bunch to the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
We have made this recipe several times and even people who are not crazy about chili (me included) love this recipe!!!! I would definately recommend it!!! Top in with some cheddar cheese, sour cream, and green onions and it is absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This chili was fun to make, however was a little on the sweet side for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
excellent standard type chili. Not sure all the fancy stuff (like wasabi) made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We LOVED this chili!! I couldn't find wasabi paste so ommitted it. Also used half the chili powder and cumin called for and doubled the tomatoes. Great flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I tried this because we love wasabi! I added about 1/2 a pound of stew meat in with the sausage and ground beef. I didn't have habanero so I substituted a jalapeno. I used 3 different types of beans; kidney, black and chili. My beer was Guinness. It was delicious!! I always drain and rinse my beans (with the exception of chili beans) but I was still leery about it being too thin based on other reviews. However, I left the lid off for the last 45 minutes and the consistency was perfect. Now I have found two chili recipes on this site that it will be difficult to choose between. Woe is me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States