Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This chili rocks! The wasabi, sausage, and multiple kinds of peppers really add depth of flavor. I always substitute ground beef with 2 cups of texturized vegetable protein (TVP) to make it a little healthier (add 2 extra cups of liquid if you try this). The beer I used was perfect for the recipe, too: Alaskan Brewery's Smoked Porter - they smoke the malt with alderwood before brewing...try it if you can find it. This will be added to my growing arsenal of awesome chili recipes from allrecipes...thanks Aaron! Deee--LISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I was very impressed with the original recipe. However, the second time i didn't have any beer around the house; after a taste test, the chili still needed something. So, i used a little chocolate and simmered the chili for a while longer. If possible, it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This thick chili has a wonderful medly of spicyness that work in tandem to give a long lasting taste that is only rarely overpowering. The beer does lend a lot to the dish and the wasabi can be forgotten without much notice. Enjoy with a good dry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This recipe just won a chili cook off for me (11 total entries). i added an extra tablespoon of wasabi (2 powder, and 1 fresh grated) and couldn't find any coriander, i also used the whole pound of sausage, but other than that, it was the same. the heat is good, but it doesn't burn your tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Really flavorful and fun. We did add some corn starch to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Exceptional chili! Bold, very flavorful and wonderfully spiced. Was an amazing hit with our guests. Goes exceptionally well with traditional southern cornbread. Will definitely make this again! And for the chili rookies out there (myself included), make sure you wear gloves while handling the hot peppers, particularly the habanero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This has been a fun recipe to try. It has a lot of punch, good combination of flavours. Worth a repeat. Some changes: I did need to add cornstarch as another suggested. I had my own hot peppers growing in the garden - even more potent if possible! I have added 2 cups of kernels of corn, to make this into a more complete meal. I didn't have enough brown sugar, so added 2 tbsp of maple syrup (the real Cdn thing). Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I love my chili spicy and this recipe definitely lived up to that requirement. I would for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I don't think that I have ever had a better chili, ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This recipe was awesome. O.K...... I had to tone down the peppers alittle, or my sons wouldn't have eaten it. They can't take the heat! I used the habanero pepper only. It was the mildest of them all. Instead of pork sausage I used turkey sausage instead. I did not have to thicken the sauce at all. The wasabi was a clever idea! This I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States