Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
this chili gets better and better each time we make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made this as-is several weeks ago, and it was such a hit. We loved this. Another cold spell arrived, and when it came to the decision of chili or stew, we're having chili tonight! There was no debate. This recipe rocks. Don't be afraid of all the peppers. For the amount this recipe makes, the spice is just right. Serve with a hot pan of cornbread, and watch it get eaten up! Also freezes pretty well. Makes a nice lunch on a cold day at the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This will be my chili recipe from now on-- i only made a few changes but everyone who tries it wants the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good but quite a bit of tomato taste so next time I'll cut down the tomato paste by maybe a can and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I don't like chili but my husband does. He really enjoyed this recipe but for those chili neophytes beware....PLEASE use gloves when cutting the peppers!! Yes, I know...I'm an idiot. I had a nice milk + baking soda mixture on my hands for a few hours. Great recipe though....I used 2 habaneros and 2 jalapenos for a lack of the other peppers at my store. I used 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup Kahlua. Seemed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is my favorite chili recipe. I use ground turkey instead of beef and skip the coffee. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Callais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I liked it, but I tasted the coffee and the port that I used, and that bothered me a little bit. I will try it again with a few alterations ... maybe more tomatoes, weaker coffee and slightly lighter brew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Tina Turner was most accurate......"Simply the BEST!" I have made this several times now and have made some minor changes, but stick to the core. I actually prefer a little more spice, so added another habanero, and a tablespoon of crushed red pepper. Adds a little more kick, but by no means overpowering. I also throw in a square or two of dark chocolate. I like what it does to the consistency, and balances out the heat quite nicely. Customized slightly or not, this chili will remain THE standard going forward. SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Amazing Chili. Unlike some complaints of it being too spicy, I found it to need more spice so I bumped up the peppers. I also used a full pound of spicy sausage since we like our meat :) Oh and I added another TBS of salt which I think upped the flavor. Will definitely be making this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Wonderful, I'm not a spicy fan but had no problem with this great tasting chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States