Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. My clientele consists not only of local residents but tourists from around the world. I am expected to prepare extraordinary soups and specials on a daily basis...on a limited budget with limited time. My ratings are based on customer response...so take them seriously. I have earned the reputation as the Soup Nazi (Seinfeld lol). I used Guiness as the beer and coffee liqueur instead of coffee. I played around with the spices and the end result was a hit and sold out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very good! Entire family loves it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is awesome. Made just as recipe called for. Love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I added 1/4 cup of masa flour at the end and substituted a jalepeno pepper for the serrano pepper as my market did not offer serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardiacrn1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
If you like tasty, and if you love spicy, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Excellent! I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes, precooked 2 cups of dry kidney beans in place of the canned, and added 1/2 tsp cocoa and 1 tsp cinnamon. A keeper, and one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Good enough, but not worth all of the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This chili was amazing!!! My friend actually sent me this recipe as I am the chili maker of the group! I made this and everyone loved it! I used Blue Moon beer and I think it worked out very well. I normally add sourcream to a bowl of chili but that was not a good mix with the wasabi. I will be making this at my chili night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a fantastic chili recipe. We followed the recipe as written, but drained the sausage and ground beef. It really wasn't too hot. I made it for halloween and everyone wanted the recipe! It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I won our office chili cookoff with this recipe. I made several changes to save going to the store. Substitutions: Course chopped beef shoulder instead of ground beef, 1 can tomato paste and 2 cans tomatoes, chicken broth instead of beef, black and white beans instead of kidney beans. I was worried about too much heat, and so left out the habernero and then added the chili mixture a little at a time to get around 2 stars. I added sugar to taste. You do not individually taste beer, coffee and wasabi, instead it all melds into a really "full" taste. While I am not that fond of chili, when tasted next to a bunch of others, it is really obvious that this receipe has very complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States