Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This will be my chili recipe from now on-- i only made a few changes but everyone who tries it wants the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Lucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good but quite a bit of tomato taste so next time I'll cut down the tomato paste by maybe a can and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I don't like chili but my husband does. He really enjoyed this recipe but for those chili neophytes beware....PLEASE use gloves when cutting the peppers!! Yes, I know...I'm an idiot. I had a nice milk + baking soda mixture on my hands for a few hours. Great recipe though....I used 2 habaneros and 2 jalapenos for a lack of the other peppers at my store. I used 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup Kahlua. Seemed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is my favorite chili recipe. I use ground turkey instead of beef and skip the coffee. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I liked it, but I tasted the coffee and the port that I used, and that bothered me a little bit. I will try it again with a few alterations ... maybe more tomatoes, weaker coffee and slightly lighter brew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Tina Turner was most accurate......"Simply the BEST!" I have made this several times now and have made some minor changes, but stick to the core. I actually prefer a little more spice, so added another habanero, and a tablespoon of crushed red pepper. Adds a little more kick, but by no means overpowering. I also throw in a square or two of dark chocolate. I like what it does to the consistency, and balances out the heat quite nicely. Customized slightly or not, this chili will remain THE standard going forward. SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Amazing Chili. Unlike some complaints of it being too spicy, I found it to need more spice so I bumped up the peppers. I also used a full pound of spicy sausage since we like our meat :) Oh and I added another TBS of salt which I think upped the flavor. Will definitely be making this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Wonderful, I'm not a spicy fan but had no problem with this great tasting chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was excellent chili - not hot at all. I doubled the washabi and used 3 green chilis. 1 can kidney and 2 cans pinto. Prefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. The beer, coffee, and wasabi are consumed within the chil. A bit on the sweet side cuz of the sugar, but expected that. Is it the best I've ever made? No, due to the sweetness. But pretty good, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States