Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really appreciate that everyone posts recipes so I hate to give a bad review especially when this recipe had an overwhelming amount of great reviews...but we really really didn't like this chili at all. I made it for a neighborhood chili cookoff that I have won in the past with my own recipe. Wasn't sure how it would turn out so I made it the day before and good thing because we didn't like the taste at all. Maybe it was the coffee or maybe it had way too much tomato paste. Oddly every review said it had depth of flavor but we didn't get that at all...it was just overly tomato pasty tasting. The day of the cookoff I made a batch of my own chili recipe and brought both to the cookoff. Everyone loved our normal recipe but not one person liked the washabinaro recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except we couldn't find habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Outstanding chili with incredible depth of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Although it takes some time coming up with the ingredients-coffee, wasabi paste, dark beer, it is well worth the effort! i used chicken sausage and ground chicken, bought a black coffee a tim hortons, used my wasabi from sushi and bought 1 can of rickards dark beer. Then put it all together as per instructions-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I won second place in a chili contest with this chili.. Every time I make it, I have every single person asking for the recipe.. I always say its a secret!!! LOL... WONDERFUL recipe to make... a bit spicy but most people like it that way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A family favorite, but it hasn't won any of the local chili cook offs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Seems to have endless amounts of ingredients, but everything melded together nicely. It is a good, hardy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
VERY VERY VERY Spicy. But REALLLLYYYY good! Will make it again when Im feeling brave. Served leftovers with white rice or baked potato to calm the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was looking for something different and this recipe did the trick...I made this chili with 2 other kinds and everyone liked this one the best. Thankyou for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Colleen Wilson
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was the first time I actually made chili and boyfriend ended up LOVING this and said it was the best chili he has ever had! He really likes thick and chunky chili so I didn't add the broth and only put 2.5 cups of tomato sauce in it and no paste because it ended up perfect in the end. I put in Chocolate Porter Ale since it was the only dark beer I had. Also I just put in a cube of a 99% chocolate bar instead of the cocoa powder. I didn't add the coffee because bf doesn't like coffee and was worried it might be to much...but I may have to try it next time! Instead of habinaros, I put in 5 arbol chilis instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alpine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This chili was very good! Different from my everyday chili! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and a light beer to cut down on calories. I also added a half of a red bell pepper. It was delicious! I omitted one can of beans and substitute one can of black beans for one can of kidney. Next time I will use 3 cans, my children felt it was too soupy, but that could be why. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States