Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Although it takes some time coming up with the ingredients-coffee, wasabi paste, dark beer, it is well worth the effort! i used chicken sausage and ground chicken, bought a black coffee a tim hortons, used my wasabi from sushi and bought 1 can of rickards dark beer. Then put it all together as per instructions-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I won second place in a chili contest with this chili.. Every time I make it, I have every single person asking for the recipe.. I always say its a secret!!! LOL... WONDERFUL recipe to make... a bit spicy but most people like it that way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A family favorite, but it hasn't won any of the local chili cook offs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Seems to have endless amounts of ingredients, but everything melded together nicely. It is a good, hardy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
VERY VERY VERY Spicy. But REALLLLYYYY good! Will make it again when Im feeling brave. Served leftovers with white rice or baked potato to calm the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was looking for something different and this recipe did the trick...I made this chili with 2 other kinds and everyone liked this one the best. Thankyou for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Colleen Wilson
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was the first time I actually made chili and boyfriend ended up LOVING this and said it was the best chili he has ever had! He really likes thick and chunky chili so I didn't add the broth and only put 2.5 cups of tomato sauce in it and no paste because it ended up perfect in the end. I put in Chocolate Porter Ale since it was the only dark beer I had. Also I just put in a cube of a 99% chocolate bar instead of the cocoa powder. I didn't add the coffee because bf doesn't like coffee and was worried it might be to much...but I may have to try it next time! Instead of habinaros, I put in 5 arbol chilis instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alpine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This chili was very good! Different from my everyday chili! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and a light beer to cut down on calories. I also added a half of a red bell pepper. It was delicious! I omitted one can of beans and substitute one can of black beans for one can of kidney. Next time I will use 3 cans, my children felt it was too soupy, but that could be why. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I have had a lot of chili in my time, and this is by far the best I've ever had. Cook it just like the recipe says. It's twice as good the next day! (I use Guiness). I don't just throw out 5 star ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good, but spicy. I cut down the spice tremendously: used sweet peppers instead of the peppers called for, halved the wasabi and cayenne, and bf was still remarking it was hot. We aren't fans of tremendously spicy food--if you love spicy, I'd tell you to go for it--it just wouldn't have worked for us at that level of spiciness. I also left out the coffee (I can't stand it in anything) but followed the rest of the recipe. This makes a ton of chili--no way it's just 8 servings! It filled up my large crock pot and we have a lot leftover. I put the chili in this morning and let it cook on high for 4 hours, which was a perfect time frame. Thanks for the unusual chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States