Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This had a good overall flavor, but WAY too sweet for me. I considered only adding half the brown sugar, and now I wish I would have. I can't comprehend why anyone would want chili to be this sweet. I can see how the brown sugar might balance the flavors, but I think I will try just a tablespoon next time. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding more salt. It wasn't as spicy as I was expecting, so I think I might add an extra habanero next time. Other than the sweetness, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious!! Only thing I did was use mild sausage and substituted the Serrano peppers for Jalapenos b/c I was afraid it would be too spicy for some of us. I can't tolerate too much spice, but this was a perfect blend of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was good, but not stellar. I used it in a chili cook off at work, did not win but plenty of people ate it! Maybe too hot for the general public. I did like the depth of flavor but will keep searching for the "perfect" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Though it takes more expense and preparation than some, this is my new favorite chili recipe. I was going to take it to a cook-off but got there too late to enter. :( Don't be afraid to add all the "hot" ingredients -- cayenne, habaneros, wasabi. Unless you have a sensitive, bland tastes, this moderately spicy chili won't be too hot for you. I'm sort of a middle-of-the-road hotness person myself (always get "medium" in the salsa aisle) and it was just fine. I liked all the different flavors in it. I will say that after it simmered awhile the flavors were less discernible, which kind of disappointed me. But I'm about to put all the ingredients on my shopping list again so we can make it again! Oh, and seriously, you HAVE to drain the fat after cooking the meat ... can't imagine how greasy the chili would be if you didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was one of the best batches of chili I have ever had. The only alteration I made was to use an additional can of tomatoes (fire roasted) instead of the beans. The flavors of this chili were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
AWESOME. Everybody LOOOOOVES when I make this...thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was really good, despite not being able to find wasabi paste. When I find it I buying a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good recipe I suppose, but I don't know how it won the chili throwdown. I suspect bribery or some other foul play.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I read this recipe has won contests and it did for me too!! I made a couple of alterations: added cubed sirloin, one can each of kidney beans, black beans and pinto beans, and 1/4 c bittersweet chocolate. I named it "Triple Threat Throwdown Chili" (3 kinds of meat, 3 kinds of beans and 3 kinds of peppers). I entered it into a contest where there were 20 entries and won first place for the chili and first place for the name! It is really good - wonderful depth of flavor. You should try it and don't be afraid of the peppers - they add lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really appreciate that everyone posts recipes so I hate to give a bad review especially when this recipe had an overwhelming amount of great reviews...but we really really didn't like this chili at all. I made it for a neighborhood chili cookoff that I have won in the past with my own recipe. Wasn't sure how it would turn out so I made it the day before and good thing because we didn't like the taste at all. Maybe it was the coffee or maybe it had way too much tomato paste. Oddly every review said it had depth of flavor but we didn't get that at all...it was just overly tomato pasty tasting. The day of the cookoff I made a batch of my own chili recipe and brought both to the cookoff. Everyone loved our normal recipe but not one person liked the washabinaro recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except we couldn't find habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States