Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was really good, despite not being able to find wasabi paste. When I find it I buying a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good recipe I suppose, but I don't know how it won the chili throwdown. I suspect bribery or some other foul play.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I read this recipe has won contests and it did for me too!! I made a couple of alterations: added cubed sirloin, one can each of kidney beans, black beans and pinto beans, and 1/4 c bittersweet chocolate. I named it "Triple Threat Throwdown Chili" (3 kinds of meat, 3 kinds of beans and 3 kinds of peppers). I entered it into a contest where there were 20 entries and won first place for the chili and first place for the name! It is really good - wonderful depth of flavor. You should try it and don't be afraid of the peppers - they add lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really appreciate that everyone posts recipes so I hate to give a bad review especially when this recipe had an overwhelming amount of great reviews...but we really really didn't like this chili at all. I made it for a neighborhood chili cookoff that I have won in the past with my own recipe. Wasn't sure how it would turn out so I made it the day before and good thing because we didn't like the taste at all. Maybe it was the coffee or maybe it had way too much tomato paste. Oddly every review said it had depth of flavor but we didn't get that at all...it was just overly tomato pasty tasting. The day of the cookoff I made a batch of my own chili recipe and brought both to the cookoff. Everyone loved our normal recipe but not one person liked the washabinaro recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except we couldn't find habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Outstanding chili with incredible depth of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Although it takes some time coming up with the ingredients-coffee, wasabi paste, dark beer, it is well worth the effort! i used chicken sausage and ground chicken, bought a black coffee a tim hortons, used my wasabi from sushi and bought 1 can of rickards dark beer. Then put it all together as per instructions-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I won second place in a chili contest with this chili.. Every time I make it, I have every single person asking for the recipe.. I always say its a secret!!! LOL... WONDERFUL recipe to make... a bit spicy but most people like it that way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A family favorite, but it hasn't won any of the local chili cook offs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Seems to have endless amounts of ingredients, but everything melded together nicely. It is a good, hardy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
VERY VERY VERY Spicy. But REALLLLYYYY good! Will make it again when Im feeling brave. Served leftovers with white rice or baked potato to calm the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States