Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Tried this recipe for something different. We had a chili cookoff at work so figured I'd give it a shot. I was surprised that we won the contest hands down. Great recipe, different ingredient mixture but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Won my company chili contest with this recipe. Not being a big fan of beans in my chili I cut it down to one can and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've always prided myself on my own chili recipe but stumbled across this and was intrigued. Coffee? Brown Sugar? Wasabi? Needless to say my curiosity got the best of me and I made it, confidently doubling the recipe. No Serranos were available so I substituted a few nicely roasted jalapenos. I also used a mix of dark red, light red and pinto beans. The results and reviews were outstanding. The complex layers of flavor worked really well. This is a keeper recipe and has displaced my own recipe as my go-to chili. Believe me - that speaks volumes for just how durned good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotSauce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is a great chili. I didn't screw with it so I could rate the recipe on it's own merits. The only thing I will say is that I would cut back on the brown sugar next time, just a tad too much sweetness for our liking. Also, the wasabi got lost in everything else. BUT...like I said, this is a great chili recipe! Actually have plans for a pot this evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I've made this recipe at least 40 times. I love it. The only changes that I make are the quantity and type of peppers that I use. If I am feeling crazy, I will use ghost peppers. I also started using very lean ground beef. You can't tell the difference in taste. It is fun to make and even more fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I rarely give 5 stars but this recipe was just that good. I changed the quantity of some of the ingredients based on my family's taste and I didn't have wasabi paste but I don't think it mattered. I think this recipe could be made exactly as described or changed a little and it will still be fantastic. Thanks for the great chili recipe. I think this one will replace my old reliable chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This chili recipe has won me back to back office chili cook-offs. Naturally I took all the credit, but time to give the credit where it is due. Thanks. Great flavor. I make sure to use a different dark beer each time I make it for a different angle. I like using a chocolate stout which adds a rich and smooth consistency. Make sure the coffee used is a STRONG cup to give it a noticeable but it still wont be an overbearing kick. Kudos to the creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious. Hot, but not too hot. Used Kidney, Pinto and Black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aphioni
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
this is a phenomenal recipe- i cut the beer and coffee in half because my son tastes EVERY ingredient and pick those two out, but even with both at full portions, it's fantastic. i add a few more seasonings because I LOVE spice, but this is as close to a perfect recipe as I've ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
The best chili recipe I've ever used. I substituted the brown sugar with a half bar of real dark chocolate but otherwise made exactly as written and it always comes out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States