Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Good but I will make some changes if I ever make it again. The sausage and the sugar overpowered everything else. The sausage gave it a spaghetti sauce taste. I had to add some vinegar after tasting it and thought it was too sweet. I like beer in chili but couldn't taste it over the sugar and sausage. I didn't notice the coffee. There was a good taste coming through though and it was probably the wasabi and chilies. I may try it again but use pork instead of sausage and not add any sugar unless I think it needs it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
YUM! add more beans, it's healthy and makes it more interesting. also more diced tomatoes to keep the proportions the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was a lovely recipe even without some of the ingredients like the sausages. I also substituted for some of the peppers whatever kinds I had available. Flavourful and makes a lot. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruzmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Great chili! My husband and I won first place in a chili cookoff with this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I personally will be using less beer and less coffee in this recipe. I made it as directed and it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I have to say I did not use all the spicy items.. the washabi, the habeneros and it was still quite spicy! It was a bit runny, I thickened it up with cornstarch. I will be using beer and coffee in any chili I make in the future.. that was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I cut out the Serrano and Habanero peppers and added more Wasabi to match our (my wife and I) tastes. I like to put it all in a slow cooker for about 6 hrs. on low. Since ground bison is readily available around here at pretty much the same price as beef, we use it instead, it makes it less greasy. I also like to drain and rinse the beans when I make this. We've made this recipe quite a few times since finding it and it's great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
WhenI first looked at the recipe I thought hungry/drinking college kids throwing whatever was handy in a pot, lol!! To my suprise this is a fantastic chili. I did not want to run to the store so I used two bags of pinto beans I'd cooked and frozen and 1 can of refried beans to make it thick(more like a con carne)...then I used one can of kidney beans at the end. We topped with cheddar and green onions...a keeper and a great Fall/Tailgating recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Loved it! could be the best chili i ever had, and definitely the best i ever made! Coffee and beer???.....genius!!!!. I used horseradish instead of wasabi stuff... (the wasabi paste i looked at had horseradish listed as its main ingredient so i didn't bother to spend 3 bucks on it). Also I couldn't find a habanero so i used a plain ole jalapeno. anyway, turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by certifiedfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made this chili a few times and it's awesome. Everyone that's tried it has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States