Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I won our office chili cookoff with this recipe. I made several changes to save going to the store. Substitutions: Course chopped beef shoulder instead of ground beef, 1 can tomato paste and 2 cans tomatoes, chicken broth instead of beef, black and white beans instead of kidney beans. I was worried about too much heat, and so left out the habernero and then added the chili mixture a little at a time to get around 2 stars. I added sugar to taste. You do not individually taste beer, coffee and wasabi, instead it all melds into a really "full" taste. While I am not that fond of chili, when tasted next to a bunch of others, it is really obvious that this receipe has very complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I thought this chili was very flavorful and spicy. My mother felt that it was too spicy for her, so I added another can of Diced tomatoes and squirted some Ketchup into the chili. This sweetened it up, and toned down the peppers a little. All in all, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I cooked this recipe for 50 people. LOVED this chili....seriously the best raves I have ever received for a chili. I used about half the peppers because I had to please a lot of people (still spicy but for my own taste...I would 3/4 of the amount of pepper in the receipe) Also I added a variety of beans, more tomatoes, roasted red peppers and a bit more meat. This thickened it up a bit. I cooked it for a very long time to meld the flavors together. BEST chili ever. Not a drop was left.....good deal. P.S. If you like to lighten your chili, serve it over rice with a grated cheese topping and some sliced green onions. It is good. Sour cream is also a good condiment to add. Just your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Grooms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I normally never rate or review recipes, but I just had to on this one. This is BY FAR the best chili I have ever made. For the beer I used Shiner Bock Black and added an extra tablespoon of wasabi like the other reviewers suggested. This is a must try recipe with an endless array of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
LOVE this recipe! I've made it several times now, and it just gets better every time. Half of the fun is explaining to people that you make it with coffee, beer, and wasabi paste. Their eyes are always like saucers! The only significant change I end up making is adding a third can of tomato paste every time. I like my chili thick, and 3 cans of tom paste makes it exactly how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meresauter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The wasabi taste was REALLY overpowering.. Like, to the point where my husband and I who never waste food, had to throw the entire pot out. I guess you have to be a wasabi lover to enjoy this recipe. I spent about $30 making this chili and I suspect that without the wasabi, it would have been at least edible, if not down right good. But alas, I have to give it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Good chili. I didn't find it terribly remarkable, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Killer. Didn't change a thing. Even went with the peppers and spices as is. Served it to a party of 108 people. Even the kids had 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This probably isn't the most helpful of reviews since I don't remember the exact modifications I made to the recipe to replace ingredients I didn't have on hand. But I wanted to say that it was very good. The substitutions I made were very minor and didn't effect the overall qualities of the recipe. The only major modification was to tone down the spices a bit. I like things zesty, even with a very little bite, but not so much that I have to stop and sip milk in between mouthfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Good but I will make some changes if I ever make it again. The sausage and the sugar overpowered everything else. The sausage gave it a spaghetti sauce taste. I had to add some vinegar after tasting it and thought it was too sweet. I like beer in chili but couldn't taste it over the sugar and sausage. I didn't notice the coffee. There was a good taste coming through though and it was probably the wasabi and chilies. I may try it again but use pork instead of sausage and not add any sugar unless I think it needs it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States