Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe makes some epic chili as is, but I do usualy substitute one bottle of Youngs Chocolate Stout for the beer and I don't bother with the coffee since the Youngs is coffee/chocolatey flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I love this recipe. 2nd time I made it and I didn't use the oil as recommended. I only used about 2 tablespoons of olive oil - 1 for the garlic onion and 1 for the peppers. The meat throws plenty of grease. I drained the garlic/onion/meat before continuing. I just love the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
By far best chili we have ever had. Everyone who tastes it when we make it-loves it and asks for recipe! Such a bold flavor with the coffee, beer, and wasabi! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
absolutely the best flavored chilli, I have ever made and I do make a lot of chilli in particularly through the winter. If I have one complaint it might be to have it a little thicker, but it makes a great thick hearty soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This chili is awesome. I've made it countless times and have come to customize it so my picky hubby can enjoy it. I leave the sugar out and use sweet red and green bell peppers. He likes the flavor just as long as I leave the hot peppers out. O well...Everything else stays the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsfordinner
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Okay I have to say...awesome! BUT I exchanged the brown sugar with agave and drained the beans and use 1/4 expresso for the coffee! We like ours thicker. Also had the Tums handy but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LOVE LOVE LOVE this chili!! We make it all winter long. Normally I serve it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Tried this recipe for something different. We had a chili cookoff at work so figured I'd give it a shot. I was surprised that we won the contest hands down. Great recipe, different ingredient mixture but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Won my company chili contest with this recipe. Not being a big fan of beans in my chili I cut it down to one can and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've always prided myself on my own chili recipe but stumbled across this and was intrigued. Coffee? Brown Sugar? Wasabi? Needless to say my curiosity got the best of me and I made it, confidently doubling the recipe. No Serranos were available so I substituted a few nicely roasted jalapenos. I also used a mix of dark red, light red and pinto beans. The results and reviews were outstanding. The complex layers of flavor worked really well. This is a keeper recipe and has displaced my own recipe as my go-to chili. Believe me - that speaks volumes for just how durned good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotSauce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States