Wasabi Yellowfin Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kelly hughes
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made to directions. Didn't achieve the "crust" I was hoping for however still tasty enough I would serve at a dinner party. Second time I made it I finished it off with a tiny drizzle of suracha cream sauce and was very pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly hughes
Home Town: Bayou Vista, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Great recipe and oh so simple. I didn't have the 5-spice on hand the first time I made this, but I made it with the remaining ingredients and it was fantastic! I've made this several time and never used the spice. I double the wasabi sauce each time to have extra for adding after cooking. Didn't know preparing great tuna steaks could be so easy!!! Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Outstanding. I used Pomegranite Red Wine vinegar, because that's what I had & saved the mayo-wasabi mix for a sauce. Patted on sesame seeds before grilling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My favorite selection at the Cheesecake factory is their Wasabi Crusted Ahi Tuna. I bought a bag of individual servings of frozen Mahi Mahi at Costco hoping to find a recipe like this in allrecipes. It's not exactly like Cheesecakes, but close enough. Yum yum yum! My husband and daughter kept telling me how good it tasted. I didn't add the five spice, and since I love wasabi added extra. That's something that can easily be played around with. I also doubled the first ingredients so I would have enough to re-apply before I was ready to cook. After re-applying one side I then coated with panko crumbs and did the same on the other side. Oh so good! Thanks for sharing Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very disappointing. The sauce was not great. I tried to save it by adding soy ginger sauce, but the mayonaise overpowered the taste of the tuna. Would not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe that I follow almost exactly. The only thing I do differently is save the excess mayo mix and dip the fish into again right before searing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Instead of Yellowfin Tuna, I substituted it for Tilapia and flash fried each filet. It was realy good. I served the fish topped with fresh scallions chopped and squeezed lemon juice on top. Yum! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Excellent! This is a high-end gourmet quality feast. But, the directions need tweaking. I made this last nite for 2 girlfriends. I made the sause: used 6 tble. lite mayo, 2 teas. of wasabi, 1 tble. soya, I didn't use any other spice, mixed all well, reserve in small bowl. I marinated the filets in 1 tble. soya and 1 tble. rice vinegar, both sides, brushed mayo mixture on top, flipped over and brushed mayo on other side, covered and refrigerated for 30 min. No longer. Toasted seasame seeds, 8 tble. set aside on a small plate. To cook fish, I heated no-stick pan sprayed with baking spray on medium meat. Place fish filet, one at a time on seasames to coat, brushed with the mayo on other side and coated that side. Then into the pan. We like tuna med. rare so I cooked for 2 min. per side, for fish that was 1 1/2 inches thick. When fish is done put on serving plate. In same pan, I added leftover mayo mixture, there is lots, as I just brushed on to marinate (both sides) before marinating. I quickly heated reserved up and spread 1 tble. of this to top side of cooked tuna, and served immediately. The sesame seeds browned beautifly and stayed on fish. I would also like to try this using a good quality balsamic vinegar instead of the rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS! Excellent! I substitute the tuna for Mahi Mahi and I only had 2 filletes but used the same amount of ingredients for the sauce and it was PERFECT. Wasabi taste was definitely on my fish after cooking it on the skillet. I also just cooked it sushi grade for just 1 min and a half each side. I served it with a macaroni pasta with peas, shredded carrots and scallions just tossed on little olive oil, it made the flavored balanced well and avoid concentrate on the saltiness of the fish (soy sauce). Hubby loved it. Big 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I did what others suggested and doubled the sauce (step 1). I also only made about half as much tuna, so the sauce was plentiful and really gave the tuna good flavor. I will say that the flavor was most overwhelmingly form the Chinese 5 Spice Powder, I didn't taste the wasabi at all really. But the taste ended up being very authentic, similar to dishes I've had in China. And it is super easy! I would make it again exactly like I did before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlisonSommer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States