Wasabi Mayonnaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I was expecting this to be hotter! I used 1 Tbls powder to 1 tsp water and mixed into paste, I did have to add about 2 more drops of water. Added the mayo and topped off my salmon burgers! Like I said, I thought it would be hotter so I only put it on one side of the bun. Surprise, surprise, I added it to both sides and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is a great beginning to a recipe, but the wasabi powder to water ratio is off, and should roughly be reversed. To make a proper wasabi paste from scratch you need much more wasabi paste than water. the recipe calls for 1:2 it should be closer to 2:1. Then, after allowing the paste to set, add the mayonnaise and then, according to your desire add additional water. You simply cannot make wasabi past with 2 parts water to 1 part wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hyneman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I added about a teaspoon of dry ginger. This was excellent on seared tuna,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I think you should add the wasabi powder/paste (whichever you decide to use) to taste as the intensity varies by brand, though the heat mellows out the longer this sits. I added a bit more water and garlic powder to mine. Great dip for tuna spring rolls or for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Yum! I used wasabi paste (1 tablespoon) with 3 tablespoons of mayonnaise and it was perfect! I had it on both sides of a thin bun with a piece of Maple Salmon (from AR) inbetween -- and it was DELICIOUS! We will definitely be serving this with A LOT of dishes from now on. Even the kids loved their hotdogs dipped in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I prefer to thin this with milk instead of water. And I add a about 1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce. Wasabi powder varies with brand and age. Go light at first then add more if it needs it. Really good on grilled tuna burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I use the paste too with mayo. This is also good with smoked salmon. Some avocado and lemon slices on the side make a nice and very easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was really good as is. I also added 1 tsp of sugar and it tasted good too. Then, I added some "Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce" for my Chicken Katsus and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I don't really like wasabi, but my boyfriend does, and he fell in love with this stuff! I added a little garlic powder to get the flavor some variance, and it was a hit! Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Loved the recipe! I did change it though, I doubled the recipe and used half mayo and half sour cream. And both the mayo and the sour cream were "light." I served it with seared salmon and my husband gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States