Wasabi Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
YUM! My guests were impressed with this part of the menu, and so was I. It made a very nice platform for terriyaki salmon. As I was short on time, I just used instant potatoes and made them according to pkg instructions, then mashed in the roasted garlic and wasabi. As other reviewers tipped, I needed more wasabi to give it a nice kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Awesome potatoes. I made some changes. I stirred together 1tablespoon wasabi paste with 1/2c sour cream, for 3 lbs of potatoes. I omitted the oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made this using instant potatoes, minced garlic from a jar, heavy cream and wasabi paste in a tube (from World Market). These were great. I kept tasting because I didn't want to add to much of the wasabi to keep my daughter from eating the potatoes. My husband and I wanted a bit more intensity so I just served hers and then added more wasabi to ours. Made a great match with our garlic prime rib roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
YUM. I love mashed potatoes, and I love wasabi. I made the recipe with chopped garlic rather than roasted, and I added extra (and lots of it) wasabi paste. This was perfect with Firecracker Salmon and Japanese Zucchini from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Made this recipe with girlled salmon, added quite a bit more wasabi then directed. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used six potatoes and almost two bulbs of roasted garlic (we love garlic). I mashed everything together like I normally make potatoes and then added wasabi paste - to taste! Too much and it burns, too little you you can't taste it. You want a little burn, of course. I served these with my own marinade of ginger soy tuna steaks (served rare) over spring mix. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Wonderful! I will add more garlic next time (also 400 is too high and 45 minutes too long). You can add more wasabi to taste. But it was great without making any alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I had wasabi paste, not powder, so I just added that to the roasted garlic instead. The flavor was mild even though I only used 6 potatoes instead of 12. With the paste, the flavor just barely came through, which actually worked out just fine 'cuz otherwise my kids would not have gobbled them up! VERY good and definitely a make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
wonderful! I used up the last of our wasabe paste making this, so now I have to go buy more wso I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Unknown, California, USA
Living In: Unknown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Im not a huge fan of wasabi, but I love wasabi mashed potatos. I first had them at a resturant in Philadelphia, served with teriyaki filet mignon and grilled baby bok choy. I re created the meal at home and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States