Wasabi Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Awesome potatoes. I made some changes. I stirred together 1tablespoon wasabi paste with 1/2c sour cream, for 3 lbs of potatoes. I omitted the oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
YUM. I love mashed potatoes, and I love wasabi. I made the recipe with chopped garlic rather than roasted, and I added extra (and lots of it) wasabi paste. This was perfect with Firecracker Salmon and Japanese Zucchini from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were OK, as directed. I try to follow a recipe word for word the first time. Next time I will add MUCH more milk (they were dry), more garlic (I know, hard to believe, but when roasted the flavor isn't as strong). And definitely more wasabi. I bought the wasabi powder the same day I made these, so I know it wasn't the powder not being strong enough, they just needed more. I think the ingredients are good for this, just not the right proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
YUM! My guests were impressed with this part of the menu, and so was I. It made a very nice platform for terriyaki salmon. As I was short on time, I just used instant potatoes and made them according to pkg instructions, then mashed in the roasted garlic and wasabi. As other reviewers tipped, I needed more wasabi to give it a nice kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe has a kick if you ADD more of everything! For 2 servings, I used: 1 T wasabi powder; 1/3 cup butter; 2 t. minced garlic; 1/4 - 1/2 c. milk; no water. Makes it nice and creamy and spicy. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I loved these potatoes! I replaced the Wasabi powder with real Wasabi and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I just added half a cup of sour cream and increased the wasabi portion about 1/2 tablespoon to moisten it up a little. In addition I added garlic salt to taste because potatos are so starchy they seem to aborb more to get the taste desired. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Great alternative to "regular" mashed potatoes. Was a hit last Christmas dinner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used six potatoes and almost two bulbs of roasted garlic (we love garlic). I mashed everything together like I normally make potatoes and then added wasabi paste - to taste! Too much and it burns, too little you you can't taste it. You want a little burn, of course. I served these with my own marinade of ginger soy tuna steaks (served rare) over spring mix. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States