Wasabi Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used six potatoes and almost two bulbs of roasted garlic (we love garlic). I mashed everything together like I normally make potatoes and then added wasabi paste - to taste! Too much and it burns, too little you you can't taste it. You want a little burn, of course. I served these with my own marinade of ginger soy tuna steaks (served rare) over spring mix. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Way too much wasabi. This recipe didn't do it for me or my husband and we are big wasabi fans. The left overs went in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I am usually totally up for trying something new, but this one didn't really do it for me. It was okay, but nothing all too special (and I really like wasabi). I felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Wonderful! I will add more garlic next time (also 400 is too high and 45 minutes too long). You can add more wasabi to taste. But it was great without making any alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I thought it was ok... boyfriend couldn't even eat his (and he usually likes wasabi). Makes a nice change to plain mash, but I don't think I will bother again. I might try the idea of making the leftovers into potato pancakes though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Im not a huge fan of wasabi, but I love wasabi mashed potatos. I first had them at a resturant in Philadelphia, served with teriyaki filet mignon and grilled baby bok choy. I re created the meal at home and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I made this with Grilled Salmon I, as suggested by another reviewer. Both were very good. My husband loved the wasabi flavor, but suggested I add more next time. I thought it was fine, I like my food less spicy than he does. I also added the sour cream as suggested previously. I will make again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were OK. I made with "Grilled Salmon I" from this site which was excellent. I thought these potatoes would be a nice complement to the dish. I had to double the amount of wasabi just to get a bit of flavor. I didnt care much for the wasabi taste though. I also feel like it made the potatoes dry, and I prefer creamy mashed. I did enjoy roasting the garlic, something I have never done before. The aroma filled the house. Next time I will probably stop there and just make roasted garlic mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
wonderful! I used up the last of our wasabe paste making this, so now I have to go buy more wso I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Unknown, California, USA
Living In: Unknown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I doubled the recipe for a dinner party. For some reason, they turned out fairly bland, like regular mashed potatoes. The consistency was good, though. I will make them again, but next time I will use more wasabi! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States