Wasabi Encrusted Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Great use of the wasabi peas. My husband loved the flavors in the marinade and the spice of the wasabi. Great way to prepare tuna steaks!! Congrats on being a finalist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was good but not quite as good as it sounded. The flavor of the marinade and the sauce was delicious, but the peas were hard to work with. The coating was so thick that the tuna didn't cook fast enough (and I was going for rare), so the peas just ended up burning--which wouldn't have been so bad, except then the wasabi taste was lost. Maybe I misunderstood the recipe--"crushed" to me means there are still some chunks in the mix. I think it would have been better to toss the peas into a food processor and grind them to a bread-crumb texture. I'll try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used a pestle and mortar to thoroughly crush up the peas, but they gave the tuna an off-putting gritty texture. The wasabi flavor was also lacking - I wish I had whisked some wasabi paste into the marinade. Oh well, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious! There are only 2 of us, so I cut the recipe in half. Even with only 1/2 pound of wasabi peas, there were a lot left over. Next time I will only buy 1/4 of a pound. (I can buy them in bulk at a local market) I used a food processor to crush the peas. I had a hard time with the coating; a lot of it stuck to the pan, and some of it burned. Luckily my husband likes that burnt flavor. After the steaks were cooked, I sprinkled some of the unused crushed peas over the steaks to bring back some of that wasabi kick. The sauce was delicious. I didn't have any saki, so I used Chinese rice wine. This was all-in-all a terrific way to cook tuna. My husband loved it. He has spent some time in Japan and really enjoyed the flavors. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I enjoyed the recipe but I found that the wasabi peas didn't have all that much kick to start with. So I wouldn't blame the lack of kick on the recipe. Some way of adding additional wasabi to the pea mixture would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I think the flavor of this would have been really good, but the "crust" burned and quite frankly, burned wasabi just doesn't taste good. I also managed to overcook the tuna, but that's not the recipe's fault - it's mine. I will try this again though, because we love both tuna and wasabi around here. When I try again, I'll use wasabi paste you can buy in a tube from the store and use it as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
the sauce and marinade was *great*. I used wasabi paste instead of the peas, based on other reviews of burning and such. I still had some burning, but I think I just need to adjust the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
These were not as good as I had hoped. I took the advice of others and ground the wasabi peas in the food processor. And instead of breading the tuna with the crumbs, I just sprinkled some on the top instead of baking. Even though I ground them, there were a few pea chunks that were like little pieces of gravel when you bit into them. I also didn't care for the flavor of the marinade, and it's due to the Chinese 5 spice powder. The cinnamon in the powder is overpowering for the tuna, in my opinion. I love tuna, but next time I will stick to the sesame seed coated method. It's always fun trying new things, though, and we still ate these tuna steaks. But we won't make them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wonderful! Our mouths were on fire,and we kept going back for more! I didn't have any 5spice powder, nor did I know what it was, so I mixed together cayenne pepper, garlic powder, cilantro, a little curry and a little cumin. I didn't have any tamari either. Turned out super hot, but REALLY good! I served it with a rice and spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaA-HA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used the paste, whole wheat Italian bread crumbs, parmesan, and 1 tbl of brown sugar for the crust for the marinade I used the recipe for the Japanese chicken wings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States