Wasabi and Shrimp Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
not the best cheese ball. i didn't make it into a ball shape, but rather left it in a bowl for spreading/dipping and it got watery. since i am only one person eating it, i had to toss a good bit of it after a while. if not making this for a group, i'd half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good! I had no problem shaping it and I would definally add more wasabi if you would like it hot. I think it could benifit greatly from maybe a duck sauce drizzled on top or something to bring out flavors. But it was different and worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I tried this and it didn't turn out. I bought the canned shrimp (bumble bee brand) and it was more like flaked crab rather than tiny shrimp. Not sure if that had something to do with it or not. The flavor was to bland too. And the mixture to creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1990

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I wouldn't make this again, but if I did, I would use full sodium soy sauce. I felt it would've been fine with the added salt. I added a TBSP of reg. soy sauce and it made the mixture too wet to form into a ball (even after refrigerating overnight). I ended up using it as a dip and sprinkled the toasted sesame seeds on top. It was my mistake to add too much liquid but I still wasn't that impressed with the overall flavor. The shrimp get completely lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This didn't really work for me. The wasabi completely overpowers the whole thing and you cannot taste the shrimp at all. I had also added some soy and ginger and they too were lost by the wasabi. I think it would be a good filling for a sushi roll, but on it's own it's too much wasabi flavor, too little everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
yum, yum, yum. i only used one box of cream cheese, i didn't want leftovers. i used frozen salad shrimp. i added 3 or more tblsp of wasabi, cuz we like it hot. also, i rolled it in slivered almonds instead of sesame seeds, just for fun. husband says it's the best cheese ball ever! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this!! I made it with Krab & it tasted like a crab rangoon with dipping sauce. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I crush wasabi peas and use that instead of sesame seeds. I've also used crab instead of shrimp. 1 cream cheese also makes a nice size ball. Always a big hit with wasabi lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This turned out pretty good and held together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I cut this in half....except would go ahead and use the whole can of shrimp with just one thing of cream cheese. Anyway...to mold...I lined a small plastic bowl with saran wrap and put the mixture in that...stuck it back in the fridge for a couple of hours....then carefully pressed it into the sesame seeds. It came out more like a "round" rather than a "ball". Good though!...OK...I made this again for a dinner party and they loved it....I used low fat cream cheese (just one 8 oz package)...3/4 can of shrimp...3/4 can of chopped water chestnuts...and 1 +-teaspoon of this ready to use (and very potent) wasabi paste...let that stay in fridge overnight....then roll it in the toasted sesame seeds when you're reasy to serve....stays in a ball shape just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States