Wasabi Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I tried this 3 ways - first as is. Second I let air dry. Third I tried using the dehydrator instead of the oven so as not to "kill" the heat of the wasabi in the conventional oven. I am saddened by the waste of ingredients and do NOT recommend this recipe as it simply does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
They turned out absolutely pure salt. I did exactly as it said, and they turned out salt covered salt. No wasabi flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deviedoodle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe doesn't work. I have tried it three times using various amounts of water, wasabi powder and wasabi paste and the wasabi flavor came out very bland each time. Something does happen when it is baked that takes the zing out of the wasabi. Please correct this recipe or take it out of the database.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made these twice now. The first time I thought the flavor was seriously lacking of wasabi. I figured it was maybe that my wasabi powder was old. The next time was with new wasabi, and still the same problem. I think the problem is, that baking mellows the wasabi too much. I do like how they come out nice and crisp and salty but bummed there is no wasabi flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Houston, we have a problem! I really thank the previous reviewers because I wanted a wasabi flavor, so I used 3 Tb of wasabi powder, replaced the 1 Tb of water with 2 Tb of soy sauce and even added 6 drops Tabasco. No wasabi flavor, very little other flavor. The nuts came out crispy and nice, but that's it. I think the baking just bakes out the wasabi flavor. So, how does one get wasabi to stick to almonds without (a) having to bake the flavor away or (b) leaving an oily sticky green mess on the nuts to get all over people's fingers? I dk, but I'm determined to find a solution! Thanks again for helpful warnings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Didn't think to much about this one. The kosher salt overpowered it all. I thought the wasabi would be stronger, but maybe my powder was getting to be to old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I rather enjoyed the outcome of this recipe. However the wasabi powder I used was horrible and was not spicy at all. Need to figure out how to use wasabi paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I used three tablespoons of wasabi powder and couldn't taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I used 2 Tablespoons of wasabi powder per the recipe, but it barely had any wasabi flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States