Warm Maple, Ham and Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I made this for Easter Breakfast and my family raved about it! We are always looking for new traditions and this breakfast casserole made the cut. One recommendation...we went for the Grand biscuits, but they tend to be a little denser and larger than, say a Pillsbury flaky biscuit. As a result, the middle of the casserole was not thoroughly cooked. Some loved the doughy texture--but I'm a perfectionist. It will be on the table next Easter morning (if not sooner)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
Nice recipe! Have made it a few times and haven't had a problem. Although we do like our ham shredded rather than chopped and we prefer to have our biscuits laying flat rather than points upward. Really good taste and quite different for our family and friends. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This was wonderful! I had my doubts, but I had all the ingredients on hand except for apple pie spice. I subbed cinnamon and it was excellent! We had for dinner and tasted great, but would make an even better breakfast being as it is a little sweet. We loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
Fabulous taste, tho I would have called it a casserole, not a coffeecake. Everybody loved it, but next time I'm only going to glaze 1/2 of it. The kids liked the flavor before the glaze but not after. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Oh My Gosh this was so good. Made it without the raisins, next time I will add some cheddar cheese! Don't be intimidated by the combination here, it was EXCELLENT. Great job Janice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I really liked this for a morning breakfast treat. Sweet but yet satisfying with the ham. My roommates loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was delicious except for the biscuit dough which turned to goopy balls of dough. I didn't think the dough added to the dish, so I made it a second time and left out the biscuits and the family raved about it. The flavors are terrific (buy expensive high-quality syrup-it's worth the price difference in taste). You could make biscuits seperately and spoon this dish over them if you want the bread component, but it tastes delicious without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I made this for a family reunion breakfast and it was the first food to disappear from the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yummy! I love the maple flavor mixed with the ham. I only had one little piece of biscuit in the very middle that was a little raw; all the rest were golden brown and yummy. Soft and flavorful and didn't take that long to make! I used whiskey instead of bourbon on the glaze, and had to use a lot more powdered sugar to thicken it. All in all a very tasty surprise for our Valentine's Day breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was ok. The biscuits in the middle of the pan were doughy (baked it for more than 45 minutes) and they didn't seem to add anything. If I make this again I'll leave them out and serve them on the side. The ham, apple and maple flavors were very good together. I had some leftovers and added cheese to it, it was good that way too. I didn't have apple pie spice so I substituted it with cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States