Warm Jalapeno Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This year I planted jalapeno peppers, and never having planted them before, I did not realize how many peppers a single plant will yield. I have 15 plants out in the garden and have been looking for recipes to use them in. I substituted the pepper jack cheese with 8oz of Mexican shredded blend and 8oz of cream cheese, omitted the turmeric, butter and lemon juice, and heated the evaporated milk with 12 seeded and diced jalapenos in the microwave until boiling. Then stirred in the cheeses and a teaspoon of flour and microwaved for another minute or two. Stirred in salsa. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this dip, and so did my husband, I did change the salsa to a fresh cup of pico de galo, (available in grocery store already chopped) and added chopped jalepeno peppers for extra spice.I also used sharp cheddar and monterey jack mixture instead of pepper jack, since I added my own peppers. Great recipe!!!!! a must have in your box!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a super easy and yummy dip. It has already been requested by some of my friends. The pepper Jack cheese gives it a little kick and I feel sets it apart from other cheese dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this was very good i add a lot more jalapenos, but still feel something missing i will kep playing around with and keep you updated!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is MUCH better than jarred queso I used Cabot pepper jack and a medium salsa and the heat and seasoning levels were great! To top it all off if you can make a simple cheese sauce you can make this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Followed recipe but the cheese still was not melted smooth. Could be the brand of cheese I used. Anyway my husband made this on a couple of times and he loves it and kicks up the heat by adding more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I was also not impressed with this recipe and felt it tasted too floury (even after giving it plenty of time to cook off the flour taste). I also felt it was too spicy and not "cheesy" enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is an excellent dip! My husband likes his dips a little spicier, so I just added some jalapeno seeds in with the flour and tumeric and it came out perfect. Will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANDO6116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
The cheese dip served in Mexican Restaurants consists of Land O Lakes processed american cheese (can be found at Wal-mart's deli and there is no sub) and half-and-half. That is it. Oh, and grate the cheese instead of cubing. It melts nicely. I have searched and searched for this as well. Yummy, usually I add jalapenos or a can of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I am looking for the cheese dip served in Mexican restaurants throughout the southeast. This is NOT IT. The texture was funny (I could "feel" the flour) and the spice totally overpowered the cheese. Maybe I would have been less disappointed if I wasn't trying to find a particular result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States