Warm Greek Pita Sandwiches With Turkey and Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Fantastic Recipe, we made it exactly as suggested and it was fantasic (a bit messy though) I served it with Feta Chunks and Cucumbers and Red Onions with a vinagrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Wonderful lunch. I used fat free sour cream and fat free yogurt and English cucumber in the dressing. I also left out the oil. I stuffed the pita halves and froze them. The night before work, I put this in my lunch bag with a container of lettuce and tomatoes as well as a container of dip. Nuked the sandwich for lunch for one minute, assembled and devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was delicious and easy to make! The only change I made was adding more red wine vinegar to the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Amazing! I was looking for something to make with leftover rotisserie turkey and Tzatziki sauce I had bought from a Lebonnese family at my local farmer's market. What a perfect recipe! Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is sooooo good. I didn't have plain yogurt, so I used 1 cup of low fat sour cream. I made my cucumber the way my Grandma made her cucumber salad. I pealed the cuke, sliced, then salted it and placed it in a bowl with a dish covering the slices. I then place a heavy object on the dish to press the cucumbers. You can leave it for an hour, or overnight in the refrigerator. This releases the juice and really brings out the flavor and crunch of the cucumbers. Since I'd already salted the cucumbers, I didn't add any more salt. This tasted just like a low fat version of Greek Gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Its very hard to please my family when it comes to "New Recipe" night. Everyone loved this sandwich! When my son eats 4, that can tell you something. The cucumber sauce is very fresh tasting. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
SO DELICIOUS! My boyfriend raved over these sammys. They're so easy to make, too. I bought a small oven roasted turkey breast and shredded that, the first time I made it. The second time I used left over baked chicken breasts. Both times were phenomenal. I use a whole cucumber and shred it on a cheese grater. This is one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes.com. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I used chicken breasts for this recipe and they were DELICIOUS! I would definitely make the Tzatziki sauce a day before and let it season in the fridge. A truly delicious recipe and a way to have healthy homemade gyros!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was so good!!! I used the leftover trukey from thanksgiving dinner. The only thing I would change is to make more so that we had leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Instead of using turkey, I used a whole roasted chicken and pulled the meat apart to not quite shredded. I also added a splash of lemon juice and additional garlic to the cucumber sauce to make it just a little zippier. As a tip: You can warm pitas by toasting them directly on a (very clean) stove burner for just a few seconds per side on medium to high heat which is how a lot of people warm up their pitas at home--sounds weird but works perfectly :o) Or you can use an indoor grill for the same effect. If you're going to heat pitas up in an oven just as they are--you may want to wrap them in tin foil to help retain their moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States