Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to a flourless chocolate cake I had years ago at the old Berghoff restaurant in Chicago. I've found it! This is rich, dense and fudgy. It has a nice, dark flavor. I have never cared for dark chocolate, but I loved this cake. I agree with previous reviewers; be careful not to overbake! I used a 9" springform pan and set my timer for 35 minutes. After I first checked it, the toothpick was very wet. I checked it again every minute or two. It only took five more minutes for the toothpick to emerge dry! I garnished the cake with a sprinkling of powdered sugar and a few strawberry fans. I served it with whipped cream (non-dairy whipped topping just wouldn't cut it!) and vanilla bean ice cream. I also made the caramel sauce. It wasn't bad, but it was rather thin. I wasn't crazy about the taste, but then again, caramel is my favorite thing in the world and I am very particular about it! I do agree that it may have tasted a little better without the lemon juice. All that being said, though, I feel that ANY kind of caramel sauce was unnecessary. In my opinion, the sweetness of the caramel sauce competed too much with the rich cake. Whipped cream and/or a raspberry puree would be more complimentary. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was selected as a gluten free recipe for an office potluck -- I followed the recipe exactly for the cake using nestles semi sweet baking chocolate, unsalted butter, medium eggs (not extra large) and plain old sugar in a regular old cake pan with parchment on the bottom. The top rose and cracked, looked like a brownie. The edge was a little crumbly but no problem getting it out of the pan, a little low in the middle. I used dark chocolate truffles that were too soft at room temperature to serve and melted them with a few milk chocolate dove candies to harden them a little. A very dark chocolate drizzle to decorate it. Rave reviews, no leftovers. Very rich, very dense, very satisfying for the chocoholics -- it will reappear at the office christmas party -- maybe with some peppermint or coffee added ... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. The only changes I made were to put it in a 9" springform pan because that is what I had and to bake it 40 minutes instead of 45 minutes but that could just be my oven. It is very moist and rich tasting and doesn't even need the sauce or whipped cream if you choose not to use it. If you find that it is in any way dry, then you are either overbeating the mixture or baking it too long. I believe that using a whisk to incorporate the ingredients makes for less chance of overbeating the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Dense and rich and SUPER chocolaty -- this is enjoyed by everyone, not just those who are wheat-sensitive. The key to a rich caramel sauce is to let the syrup cook until it is DEEP AMBER and not a moment before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made this for a friend on a gluten-free diet, and she described it as "super heavenly." I followed this recipe exactly, but all I had was a 9" springform pan and it came out alright. As someone else mentioned, the top does get a little crusty like a brownie, but the texture is more like a rich brownie torte. No one can tell it's gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
EXCELLENT! I did NOT make the carmel sauce. Instead I topped it with a crushed strawberry/Grand Marnier suace and fresh whipped cream. I chose this recipe because my friend has Celiac's and therefor can't have gluten. I made this for a dinner party at her house and everyone LOVED it! One note, I did whip the eggs prior to mixing them in with the other ingredients. I will certainly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was pretty good - my gluten-sensitive family members were so happy to have a tasty gluten-free dessert! I strongly recommend a sizeable scoop of vanilla ice cream with your very small slice of this extremely rich dessert. I made this recipe exactly as directed (minus the caramel sauce), and I found it very easy, but would recommend using a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Chocolate heaven! Texture is somewhere between a brownie and fudge. Very dense and rich, but oh so good. I did not make the caramel sauce, but I think the cake is fine by itself, or even with a dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Amazing! I decorated this with powdered sugar sprinkled through a stencil - it looked really pretty and thrilled my chocolate (not caramel) loving husband :) And our gluten-intolerant friend pretty much salivated over it (it's been a while since he's had good gf desserts). I will make this a dessert staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful! I think I cooked the cake too long as it was a little brownie-ish, but it still tasted delicious. I made the caramel sauce exactly as directed and it turned out wonderful! I'll never buy caramel sauce again, I was so pleased with it.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States