Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Soooo yummy!!!! Took my craving for chocolate away at first bite. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to a flourless chocolate cake I had years ago at the old Berghoff restaurant in Chicago. I've found it! This is rich, dense and fudgy. It has a nice, dark flavor. I have never cared for dark chocolate, but I loved this cake. I agree with previous reviewers; be careful not to overbake! I used a 9" springform pan and set my timer for 35 minutes. After I first checked it, the toothpick was very wet. I checked it again every minute or two. It only took five more minutes for the toothpick to emerge dry! I garnished the cake with a sprinkling of powdered sugar and a few strawberry fans. I served it with whipped cream (non-dairy whipped topping just wouldn't cut it!) and vanilla bean ice cream. I also made the caramel sauce. It wasn't bad, but it was rather thin. I wasn't crazy about the taste, but then again, caramel is my favorite thing in the world and I am very particular about it! I do agree that it may have tasted a little better without the lemon juice. All that being said, though, I feel that ANY kind of caramel sauce was unnecessary. In my opinion, the sweetness of the caramel sauce competed too much with the rich cake. Whipped cream and/or a raspberry puree would be more complimentary. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. The only changes I made were to put it in a 9" springform pan because that is what I had and to bake it 40 minutes instead of 45 minutes but that could just be my oven. It is very moist and rich tasting and doesn't even need the sauce or whipped cream if you choose not to use it. If you find that it is in any way dry, then you are either overbeating the mixture or baking it too long. I believe that using a whisk to incorporate the ingredients makes for less chance of overbeating the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I served this cake with strawberry sauce instead of the caramel (blended frozen strawberries with a splash of orange liqueur). Was a huge hit with everyone- got many 'MMMMMmmmm's with eyes closed :) I think the strawberry sauce lightened it up just a tad. The cake is definitely rich and super chocolatey, just as it's supposed to be. A 'must make again' keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Not very impressed :(.....it wasn't sweet enough, it had a very bitter taste....will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe is written. It was very moist and dense and wonderful! LOVED the caramel sauce and may just make that by itself for ice cream too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Chocolate heaven! Texture is somewhere between a brownie and fudge. Very dense and rich, but oh so good. I did not make the caramel sauce, but I think the cake is fine by itself, or even with a dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I was traveling with this recipe so I couldn't have it warm and there were not facilities to make the caramel sauce so I cannot speak to that aspect. Given these challenges I wanted the cake to have a little something special so I substituted 1/4 cup of Mint Chocolate Baileys for 1/4 cup of the butter. This change imparted a nice flavor of the minty Baileys without being overpowering and maintained the texture and integrity of the recipe. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
For the seconds it took to prepare, this was fantastic! Light, fluffy and VERY bittersweet-chocolately. I cut the recipe in half and still ended up with 11 cupcakes. Used my own caramel sauce (similar but without lemon). Mmmmm. Will use this again when I have a deep chocolate craving. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The cake recipe is fabulous!!! I couldn't stop eating it. Very rich and chocolatey! I didn't make the caramel sauce so I can't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States