Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Excellent and easy. The chocolate lovers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I'm sorry to be the hold-out here, but I made this exactly as directed (sans caramel sauce) and we found its' taste and texture to be very unpleasant. I am rarely disappointed with a chocolate dessert, but this one had a grainy, artificial taste. Prior to this cake, I didn't think a dessert could be too rich, but this was a strange combination of excessive richness and unpleasant bitterness. After three of us tried it with strawberries and cream instead of caramel sauce, we threw the remainder away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I have not made this cake, but I have made the caramel sauce many, many times. I just wanted to rate the sauce, it is very versatile and easy to whip up last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My sister can't have gluten so I surprised her with this as a special Christmas treat. She loved it. It reminds me of brownies. Very rich and chocolately. The caramel sauce is a nice touch. I will take others' suggestions and try whipped topping or ice cream next time to see what we like best. For the fun of it I thought about substituting some white choc. chips in place of the 8 oz. of chocolate to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RALWATTAR
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I am only rating the caramel sauce and it was PERFECT. I topped a cheesecake with this caramel sauce, drizzeled chocolate, and pecans for a "turtle cheesecake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I'm wondering if the toothpick/knife method to test doneness might not be right for this cake? Neither a toothpick or knife EVER did come out clean, and I ended up baking too long and burned the darn thing. Even so, with the burnt parts trimmed off and a chocolate ganache frosting, this was a VERY well received cake! Still moist, dense, and deeply chocolatey. (PS I had hot cocoa mix on hand-- not unsweetened cocoa-- so I increased the cocoa and decreased the sugar, each by 1/4 cup. It turned out great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I couldn't help but lick the bowl while the cake was in the oven! Excellent! The first time I made it though I did cook it a bit too long, a little shave off the sides and it was as good as new :) I used mini chocolate chips (semi-sweet) and a non-stick spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newtothisgame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My picky little brother loved it. My hubby loved it, and called it chocolate pudding cake. I LOVED it. I didn't even use the caramel sauce (for some reason my family isn't big on caramel). It would probably taste great with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. For a non-frosted cake, I wouldn't want my chocolate cake any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanakoLei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Awesome!!!! My family and friends, including me myself, are totally speechless. My daughter loves it! Thank you for posting this recipe! I'm looking forward to another great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I made this according to the recipe but skipped the caramel sauce and served it warm with vanilla ice cream. We thought it was average. I'd stick to brownies or chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. For someone intolerant to wheat, this might be a real treat, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States