Warm Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
The orange juice was a little much and strange tasting with the blueberries. I use the 3 tablespoons of cornstarch, the sauce was pudding like I thinned it out with water like suggested, I think you need about 1-1/2 tablespoon cornstarch, I think that next time I will use apple juice or a white grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy and fast to make. If you're a college student like me, I did not have all of the required ingredients. I substituted lemonade for the orange juice and vanilla extract in place of the almond extract. There was a bit too sweet; I would cut down to 2/3, most likely 1/2 cup of sugar. This turned out very well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
WOW so good and soooo easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent on top of pancakes and waffles and it's a perfect substitute for blueberry syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a yummy basic sauce, and easily adaptable for other kinds of fruit. I've made strawberry and peach versions as well as the blueberry. I don't like Splenda, so I just used about 1/2 c. of plain old sugar. I also swapped vanilla extract for the almond extract, as I find the almond extract flavor a little too strong for my tastes. I originally used this sauce to spoon over slices of a lemon yogurt cake, but it's also fabulous with pancakes and ice cream. My husband even added some to a smoothie and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thislittlepiggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't need the extra water, I just wisked the cornstarch into the orange juice and the almond extract. I only used a tablespoon and a half of the cornstarch because I read through the reviews and one commented that it was a little too thick. This turned out really well, it was great over homemade whole wheat pancakes. Though I liked the almond extract, I think I'd like vanilla extract better. I'll use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Absolutely Spectacular! I was looking for an alternative to store bought Blueberry Syrup which contains HFCS as the first ingredient and this was perfect! Family loved it over homemade whole wheat waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
A GREAT recipe---with a few tweaks. First, 3/4 c Splenda is alot for my liking, and I like sweet things. I think I'd take it down to 2/3 or 1/2 c., and add more as needed during cooking. Second, on the advice of a previous reviewer I did not use 3 Tblsp. of cornstarch, I used 2, and I used tapioca starch, which I think is more low-carb than cornstarch. The consistency was perfect---thicker than syrup, but still flowed nicely and served up beautifully on the gluten-free lemon pancakes I made this for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Nice recipe, but when i made it it turned out to be blueberry jelly. At least its good for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States