Warm Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a yummy basic sauce, and easily adaptable for other kinds of fruit. I've made strawberry and peach versions as well as the blueberry. I don't like Splenda, so I just used about 1/2 c. of plain old sugar. I also swapped vanilla extract for the almond extract, as I find the almond extract flavor a little too strong for my tastes. I originally used this sauce to spoon over slices of a lemon yogurt cake, but it's also fabulous with pancakes and ice cream. My husband even added some to a smoothie and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thislittlepiggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't need the extra water, I just wisked the cornstarch into the orange juice and the almond extract. I only used a tablespoon and a half of the cornstarch because I read through the reviews and one commented that it was a little too thick. This turned out really well, it was great over homemade whole wheat pancakes. Though I liked the almond extract, I think I'd like vanilla extract better. I'll use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Easy to make and very tasty. Good alternative to syrup for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Absolutely Spectacular! I was looking for an alternative to store bought Blueberry Syrup which contains HFCS as the first ingredient and this was perfect! Family loved it over homemade whole wheat waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent on top of pancakes and waffles and it's a perfect substitute for blueberry syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
A GREAT recipe---with a few tweaks. First, 3/4 c Splenda is alot for my liking, and I like sweet things. I think I'd take it down to 2/3 or 1/2 c., and add more as needed during cooking. Second, on the advice of a previous reviewer I did not use 3 Tblsp. of cornstarch, I used 2, and I used tapioca starch, which I think is more low-carb than cornstarch. The consistency was perfect---thicker than syrup, but still flowed nicely and served up beautifully on the gluten-free lemon pancakes I made this for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Nice recipe, but when i made it it turned out to be blueberry jelly. At least its good for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Way too much cornstarch. Instantly thickened it to a goopy consistency; nothing like in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this recipe and served it with a slice of pound cake I made. In the recipe I used 1/4 cup Gallo Twin Valley Chardonnay along with the juice & water and let me tell you it was delicious. I would rate it higher than a five if I could. As I'm writing you I have a blueberry almond coffeecake in the oven and I hope its just as good as the other recipe. I'll serve my sauce over it; for an added bonus. Thank you Mrs B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Garren
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very simple, very easy and has just enough sweetness. The only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States