Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Bought Belgian Endive for the 1st time & tried this recipe. It was delicious & so easy to prepare. I used toasted almonds as that's what I had on hand...will definetely make it for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Who ever knew that something this simple could be so delicious? I realized at the last minute that I was out of red wine vinegar...I substituted regular white vinegar with a dash of pinot noir (no problem). I also decided to spruce it up a little bit at the end by adding a few fresh bacon bits. Will definitely try this salad again...maybe with warm bacon vinaigrette the next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Had this salad last night at my dinner party and what a hit! Everyone loved it....a great way to start a lambchop dinner! Try it...you will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I cannot cook a new recipe and talk on the phone at the same time because I ALWAYS screw up. I suppose this qualifies me as a non-multi-tasker. This dish called for pine nuts which I planned on subbing (allergy reasons) with sunflower seeds. However, I also made an orzo side tonight and while cooking, my phone rang and dopey me, put the sunflower seeds into that dish instead. Realizing my mistake, I quickly cooked up some bacon in the microwave and sprinkled it over the salad. Believe it or not, I really do have a point to my review which is, how much we all loved this simple, yet wonderful recipe. This was my first attempt using endive (always heard it was bitter-not so cooked like this) and I'm thrilled I did because my family absolutely loved it in spite of the deletion/addition factors. The bacon added a nice touch, so next time, I'll be using both ingredients. Thanks so much "A c r h"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We loved this! Such a great combination of flavors and not bitter at all. The texture was just wonderful (that's what I love about endive). I didn't toast the pine nuts, because I prefer the flavor of them raw; I just tossed them in at the end. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy! I made this for a dinner party last night for the first time and was a little worried because of the reputation of the endive to have such a bitter taste. However, it was a hit! You do have to like the cabbage-type flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is SO good! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made this last night for dinner. I tried the dressing before adding it to the pan and found it bitter (could be because I eye-balled the lemon juice) so I just added a dash of sugar. First time I've eaten endive and I will make it again! UPDATE: I had to change my four stars to five stars because my mom and I were craving this recipe so I made it again and this time measured everything exact and didn't add the sugar and everyone at home loved this recipe! Thank you for a delicious healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! Different & fine dining like. Easy and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fantastic!!! I did not change a thing! I made this as a side dish for a pork tenderloin. The guests, 1 being finicky and the other being a very talented cook raved about it. It was one of those dishes that will have no left overs and you will wish there had been! :) Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States